Dictionary of Irish Architects 1720 - 1940

Selected: CO. MAYO, CASTLEBAR, CHURCH (RC, UNFINISHED)

Name: O'CALLAGHAN, JOHN JOSEPH
Building: CO. MAYO, CASTLEBAR, CHURCH (RC, UNFINISHED)
Date: 1876-77
Nature: New church on picturesque site donated by Earl of Lucan.  For Very Rev. James Magee.  Designs adopted by committee, Aug 1876. Tenders sought, Oct 1876. Estimated cost: £10,000. Local supervising architect: James G. Clarke. Bulilder: Kilgannon. FS consecrated and laid, 9 Sep 1877. (Church abandoned incomplete and still unroofed soon after it had been begun; replaced by Church of Our Lady of the Rosary, q.v.)
Refs: IAA, PKS B08/01; RHA 1877, no. 326; Tuam Herald, 26 Aug 1876;  IB 18, 1 Sep 1876, 261; 19, 1,15 Jul 1877, 197,210;  Irish Times, 9,12,14,19,26,30 Oct,2,8,9,10 Nov 1876,28 Jun,10 Sep 1877;  bill of measurement of cut stone work, 24 Nov 1877

Name: CLARKE, JAMES G.
Building: CO. MAYO, CASTLEBAR, CHURCH (RC, UNFINISHED)
Date: 1877
Nature: New church for Very Rev. Canonj James Magee. JC local supervising architect for same (Designs by J.J. O'Callaghan).
Refs: Irish Times, 10 Sep 1877.