BARRINGTON, WILLIAM 
- Born: 1857 Died: 1937
Civil engineer, of Limerick. William Barrington, a son of John Barrington, solicitor, of Limerick, was born in Limerick on 27 January 1857. From 1873 to 1877 he served a four-year pupilage with his uncle WILLIAM BARRINGTON & #160; After gaining further engineering experience in Ireland, chiefly on railway projects, he established his own practice in Limerick in 1880 and subsequently opened an office in Dublin. His main areas of interest were tidal reclamation, arterial drainage and light railway construction.
Barrington was a member of the Senate of the Irish Free State from 1922 until 1931. He died at home in Belgrave Square, Monkstown, Co. Dublin, in September 1937. He had married a widow, Marie Howard, daughter of Louis Dagron of New York, in 1893 and had at least three children.
ICEI: elected member, 17 July 1889.(1)
Inst.CE:(2) elected associate member, 9 January 1883; elected member, 3 February 1891.
Addresses: 8 Cecil Street, Limerick, 1880-1884; 2-3 Clare Chambers, 10 George Street, 1886-1891; Clare Chambers, Limerick, and 9 Hume Street, Dublin, <=1896->=1900; 10 George Street, Limerick, 1912.
Home: Little Kilrush, Limerick, 1901; Belgrave Square, Monkstown, Co. Dublin, at time of death.
All information in this entry not otherwise attributed is from Barrington's candidate's circulars for associate membership and membership of the InstCE (information kindly provided by Mrs Carol Morgan, archivist, InstCE),nfrom his 1901 census return, and from his obituary in Irish Times, 10 Sep 1937. A portrait photograph is in IB 64, 3 Dec 1922, ?.
(1) TICEI 19 (1889), 151.
(2) Inst.CE List of Members (1912), 72.
2 work entries listed in chronological order for BARRINGTON, WILLIAM 
|Building:||CO. LIMERICK, LIMERICK, ?, ULSTER BANK|
|Nature:||New bank, of alts to old??
Designs for front elevation, balcony railings and floor plates, 14 Nov, 17 Dec 1904, in Ulster Bank archive, Royal Bank of Scotland, Edinburgh, ULS/388, 389.
|Building:||CO. CLARE, CASTLECLARE, COTTAGES (006)|
|Nature:||2 double & 4 single cottages.|
|Refs:||IB 53, 30 Sep 1911, 661|