Dictionary of Irish Architects 1720 - 1940

Architect to the Board of First Fruits and subsequently to the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. Joseph Welland was born in Midleton, Co. Cork, on 8 May 1798. His father was WILLIAM WELLAND WILLIAM WELLAND , head agent to George Brodrick, fourth Viscount Midleton. Through the influence of Lord Midleton's brother Charles Brodrick, Archbishop of Cashel, Joseph became a pupil and subsequently an assistant to JOHN BOWDEN JOHN BOWDEN , architect to the Board of First Fruits, in Dublin. Bowden also had a large secular practice, and Welland, according to his obituary in the Irish Builder,'enjoyed an extensive share of business' with responsibility for 'numerous works' including Monaghan gaol and court house. This would seem to suggest that after Bowden's death in 1821, Welland inherited at least some of his secular projects and clients. At the same time William Welland asked Brodrick to recommend Joseph as Bowden's successor in the Board of First Fruits post. After it had been decided that the position should be divided between four architects, each responsible for an ecclesiastical province, Joseph was given charge of the province of Tuam. He kept this position after the Board was reconstituted as the Ecclesiastical Commissioners in 1833 and retained it until 1837, when he was succeeded by GEORGE PAPWORTH GEORGE PAPWORTH . Welland was then presumably allotted duties of a more general nature, and, when the architects' department was further reorganized and centralized in 1843, he was given sole responsibilty for the whole country. It may have been at this point that the Commissioners introduced the requirement that their architect should undertake no outside work.(1)

Welland's obituarist in the Irish Builder states that he designed over 100 new churches as well as carrying out alterations and enlargements to existing structures, pointing out that although he had 'to contend against the difficulty imposed by limited funds at disposal…his designs are marked by a truthfulness and suitability of character, an effectiveness of detail and imposing proportions'.

Welland was married to Sophia Margaret, daughter of John Mills.(2) He sent four sons to Trinity College, Dublin,(3 ) the eldest of whom, Thomas James Welland (1830-1907), became Bishop of Down, Connor and Dromore. The second, WILLIAM JOHN WELLAND WILLIAM JOHN WELLAND , who was awarded the Diploma in Civil Engineering by Trinity College, Dublin, in 1854, worked as an architect with his father. Some of the designs produced in the last year of Joseph Welland's life are signed 'Joseph Welland & Son'.

Joseph Welland died on 6 March 1860 and was buried in St George's churchyard, Dublin.  A note in the Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette described his death as sudden, stating that the post which he left vacant commanded a salary of £700 per annum 'with a numerous staff of inspectors of works, drawing and other clerks, offices, &c.',(4)  A month later William John Welland and WILLIAM GILLESPIE  WILLIAM GILLESPIE were appointed joint architects to the Commissioners in his place.(5)

Most of Welland's drawings are to be found in the Representative Church Body Library, Dublin. These consist of designs for a large number of new churches and church alterations, many survey drawings and several designs for glebe-houses in the province of Tuam. The list of Welland's works in this database has been compiled without examination of the RCB drawings and should not be regarded as definitive. It should be borne in mind that Welland may have signed designs (or office copies of designs) by other architects to denote his authorization rather than his authorship and that minor works and alterations may well have been left in the hands of local assistants, working to an approved 'house style'. Some churches have been listed under ECCLESIASTICAL COMMISSIONERS  ECCLESIASTICAL COMMISSIONERS where attribution is uncertain.

RIAI:(6) council member, 1845 until death; vice-president, 1850, 1851; exhibits drawings 'of a small church built in Co. Antrim in the Early Pointed style', 23 March 1850;(7) shows drawings by BENJAMIN WOODWARD  BENJAMIN WOODWARD of Holy Cross Abbey, Co. Tipperary, at general meeting, 19 December 1850.(8)
Geological Society of Dublin: council member 1851.(9)

Addresses:(10) Work: 24 Merrion Street Upper, 1847-1860
Home: 72 Dorset Street Upper, 1825-1827; 48 Rutland Street Upper, 1828-1860.

See WORKS; see also works of ECCLESIASTICAL COMMISSIONERS. ECCLESIASTICAL COMMISSIONERS.



References

All information in this entry not otherwise accounted for is from the obituary of Welland in DB 2, 1 Apr 1860, 232 and A.P.W. Malcomson, Archbishop Charles Agar(2002), 370.

(1) See DB 2, 1 May 1860, 245. Welland apparently undertook the repair of Monaghan court house in 1837 and 1838 (C.E.B. Brett, Court Houses and Market Houses of the Province of Ulster (UAHS, 1973), 97).
(2) Clergy of Down & Dromore (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1996), 24; Mills names Welland as executor in his will of 1838 (Index of Irish Wills 1484-1858 (Eneclann CD-ROM), Document ID 46406).
(3) Alumni Dublinenses, ?.
(4) Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 2, no. 9 (15 Mar 1860), 209. 
(5) B 18, 9 Jun 1860, 368.
(6) From Jones transcripts from Thom's directories unless otherwise stated.
(7) RIAI general meeting minutes, 23 Mar 1850, 74.
(8) RIAI general meeting minutes, 19 Dec 1850, 86.
(9) Jones transcripts from Thom's directories.
(10) From Wilson's Dublin Directory, The Post Office Dublin Directory and Thom's Directory


292 work entries listed in chronological order for WELLAND, JOSEPH


Sort by date | Sort alphabetically


Building: CO. DUBLIN, BLACKROCK, CROSS AVENUE, CHURCH OF SS PHILIP & JAMES (CI, BOOTERSTOWN PARISH)
Date: 1821-1824
Nature: New church with tower and spire. Decision to build taken Jul 1821. Opened 16 May 1824. To seat 500. Cost: £4-5,000. Executed by JW probably to designs of John Bowden, who died in 1821 or 1822.
Refs: B.H. Blacker, History of the parishes of Booterstown & Donnybrook (1861), ? ;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 22, no. 18, 8 May 1880, 376;  Hazel P. Smyth, The Town of the road:  the story of Booterstown (2nd ed., 1994), 90-92;  exterior illus.in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 287.

Building: CO. DUBLIN, DUBLIN, MOUNT STREET CRESCENT, ST STEPHEN'S CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1821-24
Nature: Designed by John Bowden & completed after his death by JW. Being built in 1821-22. .Consecrated 5 Dec 1824.
Refs: Saunders's News Letter, 1 Jan 1822; 'Annals of Dublin' in Pettigrew & Oulton's Dublin Almanac (1847); M.Craig, Dublin 1660-1860 (1952), 294;  Christine Casey, The Buildings of Ireland: Dublin (2005), 559.

Building: CO. MAYO, MAYO, GLEBE HOUSE
Date: 1824-26
Nature: 'The glebe-house was erected, in 1826, at an expense of £830 late currency, of which £461.10s.9¼.was a loan, and £92.6.1¾. a gift from the late Board of First Fruits...'(Lewis).
Refs: Plans and elevations of house, general plan of house, garden and offices (approved by Power Tuam, 5 Oct 1824) and specification, signed and dated Joseph Welland, 72 Upper Dorset Street 1824,  in Representative Church Body Library, Dublin, GH/60,73, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/4848-4854 (last visited, Mar 2017);  Samuel Lewis, A Topographical dictionary of Ireland (1837), II, 358.

Building: CO. TIPPERARY, CLONMEL, FREE SCHOOL
Date: 1825
Nature: His design for proposed school chosen, but contract (with Mullins & McMahon for £3,620)) not finalised because of difficulties over sureties, so Pains chosen as architects instead.
Refs: JCHAS  69 (1964),Pt. 1, 1David Lee & Debbie Jacobs, James Pain, architect (Limerick Civic Trust, 2005), 238

Building: CO. CARLOW, RATHVILLY, DISRAELI SCHOOL
Date: 1826
Nature: New school (for Commissioners of Endowed Schools?) provided for in will of Benjamin D'Israeli (c..1766-1814). Completed May 1826.
Refs: Michael Quane, 'D'Israeli School, Rathvilly', JRSAI 78 (1948), 11-23(illus.)

Building: CO. KERRY, MILLTOWN, KILCOLMAN (OR KILCOLEMAN) GLEBE HOUSE
Date: 1826
Nature: Design for new glebe house and offices.
Refs: Signed plans and  elevations of house, plan of offices and specification, signed and dated 1826, in Representative Church Body Library, Dublin, GH/58.


Building: CO. MONAGHAN, MONAGHAN, DISTRICT SCHOOL
Date: 1826a
Nature: Architect of same (for Commissioners of Endowed Schools?) before 1826..
Refs: Michael Quane, 'D'Israeli School, Rathvilly', JRSAI 78 (1948), 17

Building: CO. MONAGHAN, MONAGHAN, CHURCH SQUARE, COUNTY COURT HOUSE
Date: 1827-1830;1837-38
Nature: Designed by JW. Builder: Thomas Stewart. JW also responsible for repairs in 1837 and 1838.
Refs: Objections to approval of plan in NA/SPO CSORP 21827/1453 (IAA, Edward McParland files, Acc.2008/44); NA/PRO, Board of Works minutes, 2 Aug 1827 (IAA, Edward McParland files, Acc.2008/44); obituary of JW in DB 2, 1 Apr 1860, 232; C.E.B. Brett, Court Houses and Market Houses of the Province of Ulster (UAHS, 1973), 97;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 470-471, pL. 73.

Building: CO. CORK, MIDLETON, MIDLETON SCHOOL
Date: 1827-29
Nature: 'The Commissioners of Education in 1827 contracted with a local builder Mr David Power to reconstruct the premises. This work was completed in in 1829 under the supervision of the Commissioners' architect, Mr Joseph Welland'. (Adds. in 1870s.)
Refs: Michael Quane, 'Midleton School, Co. Cork', JRSAI 82 (1952), 23

Building: CO. GALWAY, TUAM, CATHEDRAL OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1828
Nature: Minor alts, comprising fireplace in chapter room and new windows on N side, passage to circular tower and in tower itself. Also new, traceried E window. Work superintended by Thomas Murphy.
Refs: Signed drawing, postmarked 1828, in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 26, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/5115 (last visited, Apr 2017); ; letter from Thomas Murphy to Martin Blake, MP, Brooklodge, Galway, 26 Aug 1837, in NA, Blake of Ballyglunin papers M6936/38/293 (information from Kevin Mulligan).

Building: CO. MAYO, LOUISBURGH, GLEBE HOUSE
Date: 1830ca
Nature: New glebe house for curate of Aughaval parish, linked by passage to existing buildings.
Refs: Elevation and floor plans of house, general plan of house and offices, and specification signed Joseph Welland, 48 Upr Rutland St, Dublin [ergo between 1828 and 1833]  in Representative Church Body Library, Dublin, GH/59 (drawing annotated, 'This house was occupyed by the Revd. Mr seamour[?] and Red. Mr Challis two years next month').


Building: CO. DONEGAL, CULDAFF, CHURCH OF ST BUADAN (CI)
Date: 1836
Nature: Proposed porch and fuel store to be erected on existing entrance.
Refs: Signed drawing(s) dated 12 Dec 1836 in RCB Library, portfolio 10

Building: CO. DUBLIN, DUBLIN, NORTH STRAND ROAD, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1836-1840
Nature: New church. FS laid 7 Sep 1836. Opened for worship, 25 Nov 1840.  Contractor: John Butler?
Refs: 'Annals of Dublin', unpaginated, in Pettigrew & Oulton's Dublin Almanac (1847); Anne Lavin, 'Leinster Square (with Prince Arthur Terrace) Rathmines: an early suburban speculative terraced housing development 1830-1852', MUBC thesis, University College, Dublin, 1995, 41;  Clergy of Dublin and Glendalough (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2001), 147; exterior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 291.    

Building: CO. GALWAY, KILKERRIN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1837p
Nature: Rebuilding of existing small church of 1780s.
Refs: Signed undated sheet of details of window and pulpit in RCB Library, portfolio 26; S. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland (1837), II, 116

Building: CO. LONGFORD, ABBEYLARAGH, CHURCH (CI, 1838)
Date: 1838
Nature: Small, 3-bay rectangular new church with bellcote on W gable. Early English.
Refs: Signed drawings, inscr. 'Approved, 1838', in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 1, see RCB Library - Architerctural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/20-26 (last visited, Mar 2017).

Building: CO. WESTMEATH, KILKENNY WEST, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1839
Nature: 3-bay nave, bellcote in W gable, round-headed lancets. Architect's name and date inscr. in stone over entrance door.. (Unroofed.)
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 23; Christine Casey & Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North Leinster (1993), 354

Building: CO. MEATH, LOUGHCREW, CHURCH (OF ST KIERAN (CI)
Date: 1840
Nature: New church, attr. by Casey & Rowan to JW. Tenders invited for rebuilding same, Jun 1840.
Refs: Westmeath Guardian & Longford Newsletter, 11 Jun 1840; Christine Casey & Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North Leinster (1993), 383-4

Building: CO. WESTMEATH, ATHLONE, CONNAUGHT GARDENS, CHURCH OF ST PETER (CI)
Date: 1840-41
Nature: New church with 4-bay nave, shallow chancel, large and deep battlemented gabled porch with bellcote. Dedicated 22 Jun 1841. Inscr. on slab over entrance door: 'Erected by Ecclesiastical Commissioners for Ireland A.D. 1840. J. Welland, Archt. J.H. Carroll, Builder'.
Refs: Unsigned, undated drawing(s), inscr. with date of dedication in RCB Library, portfolio 16; Christine Casey & Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North Leinster (1993), 130-131

Building: CO. DONEGAL, KILMACRENNAN (OR KILMACRENAN), CHURCH OF ST FINIAN & ST MARK (CI)
Date: 1840-46
Nature: New church for Rev. A. Hastings. 'A strong little church in a chunky Gothic idiom…almost certainly to designs by Joseph Welland' (Rowan). Completed 1846. Cost: £1220.8s.9d.
Refs: Unsigned plans, dated 1840, in RCB Library, portfolio 25; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 335;  F.W. Fawcett and D.W.T. Crooks, eds., Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999), 157(illus.);  exterior also illus. in  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 175.


Building: CO. GALWAY, KILCONNELL, CHURCH OF ST THOMAS (CI)
Date: 1840ca-42
Nature: New Early English church, with 4-bay nave, chancel, bellcote on W gable, circular E window. Dedicated 21 Dec 1842.
Refs: Signed undated drawing(s), inscr. with date of dedication, in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 4, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/; Douglas Scott Richardson, Gothic Revival Architecture in Ireland (1983), 232;  exterior illus. in Clergy of Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert and Kilmacduagh (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2010), 233.

Building: CO. DOWN, MAGHERALIN, CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY (CI)
Date: 1841-44
Nature: New church, probably designed by Joseph Welland or William Farrell. Cruciform with W tower (not executed), N & S porches off transepts. Battlemented with decorated bellcote on W gable. Design approved 1841. Dedicated 1843. Opened Oct 1844. Consecrated 3 May 1845.
Refs: Unsigned, undated drawings in RCB;  Fred Rankin, ed., Clergy of Down and Dromore (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1996), 217(illus.);  exterior also illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 200.


Building: CO. GALWAY, ROUNDSTONE, CHURCH (CI, MOYRUS PARISH)
Date: 1842
Nature: Plaque on W gable says: 'AD 1842/ Welland Arch/ H. Carroll Builder'. Another plaque on inside face of porch gable says that church was consecrated 14 Sep 1843. (Porch, tower & spire added later.)
Refs: Information from Roger Hill.

Building: CO. GALWAY, BALLINASLOE, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI, CREAGH PARISH)
Date: 1842-43
Nature: New cruciform church with W tower & spire, 5-bay nave, porches, W tower & spire; 'erected in 1843, by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, and situated on an eminence on the west side of the town, upon the site of a former structure'(Slater). Consecrated 22 Oct 1845. (Destroyed by fire, 1899, but restored and reopened 15 Mar 1901.)
Refs: Signed, dated drawings in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 4, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1002-1012,1014-1025;   I. Slater's National Commercial Directory of Ireland (1846); Adrian Hewson, ed., Inspiring Stones: a history of the Church of Ireland Dioceses of Limerick, Ardfert, Aghadoe, Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert, Kilmacduagh & Emly (1995), 67(illus.); Clergy of Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert and Kilmacduagh (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2010), 235(illus.),227.

Building: CO. ROSCOMMON, ATHLEAGUE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1843
Nature: New church on small 4-bay rectangular plan with W door. Windows round headed. Bellcote on W gable. Dedicated 10 Oct 1843.
Refs: Signed undated drawing(s) inscr. with date of dedication in RCB Library, portfolio 16

Building: CO. GALWAY, TYNAGH, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1843
Nature: New church. 4-bay hall with lancet windows. Porch & robing room at W end. To be consecrated, 5 Aug 1856.
Refs: Drawing, signed & dated 1843, in RCB Library, portfolio 4;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette I, No. 5 (Aug1856), 85.

Building: CO. MAYO, KILCOMMON, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1843
Nature: New 4-bay church with robing room, porch, W bellcote. Lancet windows.
Refs: Signed, dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 19

Building: CO. CAVAN, BILLIS, CHURCH OF ST BARTHOLOMEW (CI)
Date: 1843-44
Nature: New church with 3-bay nave, shallow chancel, bell-turret on W gable. Erected by private subscription to accommodate about 600.
Refs: 2 sets of signed drawings, dated 1843 and 1844, in RCB Library, portfolio 20; B 9, 31 May 1851, 346;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 205;  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 246(illus.).

Building: CO. WEXFORD, ENNISCORTHY, CHURCH STREET, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1843-46;1850
Nature: New church, 107 x 44½ ft., with 5-bay nave, 1-bay chancel flanked by S porch and N robing room. Clasping buttresses, lancet windows, bellcote on W gable. Further designs, 1844, for addition of belltower and W gallery, 1844. Church consecrated 31 Mar 1846. Said to have cost £4000. £2536 granted by Ecclesiastical Commissioners. Tower added 1850 at cost of about £1000. (Organ formely in Chapel Royal, Dublin).
Refs: Drawings, signed and dated Dec 1843 and 1844, in RCB Library, portfolio 17; J.B. Leslie, Ferns Clergy and Parishes (1936), 154; Douglas Scott Richardson, Gothic Revival Architecture in Ireland (1983), 233, Pls. 129-13;  exterior illus. in  Clergy of Waterford, Lismore and Ferns (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2008),440;  exterior and interior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 345.


Building: CO. GALWAY, KILCOLGAN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1843a
Nature: New church to replace existing one. 4-bay nave and 1-bay chancel. S porch, N robing room. Dedicated 12 Oct 1843. To be consecrated, 14 Aug 1856.
Refs: Signed undated drawing(s), inscr. with date of dedication, in RCB Library, portfolio 19;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette I, No. 5 (Aug1856), 85.

Building: CO. CARLOW, NURNEY, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI)
Date: 1844
Nature: Restoration of spire.
Refs: Signed and dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 21

Building: CO. CORK, CLONPRIEST, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1844
Nature: New church. Early English. 4 bay nave & chancel. Bellcote at W end.
Refs: Signed, dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 5

Building: CO. KERRY, BALLYCUSHLANE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1844
Nature: New church with 4-bay nave and chancel. Porch & vestry at W end, also bellcote.
Refs: Ground plan and elevations  signed and dated 15 Jan 1844, unsigned, undated details of E window,  office copies of ground plan, S elevation, transverse section, details of mouldings,  in RCB Library, portfolio 2, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org (last  visited, Feb 2016).

Building: CO. LAOIS, DYSART ENOS, CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY (CI)
Date: 1844
Nature: New church. Gothic, with 4-bay nave and bellcote. Consecrated, 4 Oct 1849.
Refs: Signed drawings dated Jul 1844 in RCB Library, portfolio 21;  Clergy of Cashel and Emly; Clergy of Leighlin (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2012), 237(illus.),238.


Building: CO. CARLOW, CARLOW, CHURCH (CI, KILLESHIN PARISH)
Date: 1844
Nature: Rebuilding and enlargement of body of church.
Refs: Signed drawings, dated 1844, for proposed new church incorporating old entrance & porch. Early English. 5-bay nave and chancel., dated 1844, in RCB Library, portfolio 21; Clergy of Cashel, Emly and Leighlin (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2012),262;  ;  exterior and interior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 351.

Building: CO. CAVAN, SWANLINBAR, CHURCH OF ST AUGUSTINE (CI)
Date: 1844
Nature: New chapel-of-ease for parish of Kinawley. 3-bay nave, W porch, robing room & porch in internal angles of E end. Windows grouped in pairs.
Refs: Signed drawing(s), dated May 1844, in RCB Library, portfolio 20; illus. in http://swanlinbar.kilmore.anglican.org/swanlinbar/StAugustines_Swanlinbar.htm (2008);  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 538; exterior and interior of church illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 242, which gives date as 1849.


Building: CO. FERMANAGH, DRUMANY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1844
Nature: Chapel-of-ease in parish of Kinawley. Simple 3-bay nave, tiny chancel, bell turret on W gable.
Refs: Signed drawing, dated May 1844, in RCB Library, portfolio 20; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 337.

Building: CO. FERMANAGH, CALLOWHILL?, CHURCH (CI, PROPOSED)
Date: 1844
Nature: Proposed chapel-of-ease in parish of Kinawley, with 3-bay nave, W porch, Bell turret on W gable.
Refs: Drawing, 'approved by Bishop, Incumbent and Parishioners', s.& d. May 1844, in RCB Library, portfolio 20

Building: CO. ARMAGH, TANDRAGEE, CHURCH OF ST MARK (CI, BALLYMORE PARISH)
Date: 1845
Nature: Proposed enlargement. Tenders invited Apr 1845.
Refs: Signed drawing(s), dated 1845, in RCB Library, portfolio 2A;  Armagh Guardian, 22 Apr 1845;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 540-41.


Building: CO. TIPPERARY, CLOGHEEN, CHURCH (CI, SHANRAHAN PARISH)
Date: 1845
Nature: New church. Early English. Nave with entrance porch & bellcote at W end, chancel with robing room to N. Builder: William Tinsley, Clonmel.
Refs: Drawing(s), signed and dated Sept 1845, in RCB Library, portfolio 27; J.D. Forbes, Victorian Architect: the life and work of William Tinsley (Bloomington, 1953), 35,46

Building: CO. MONAGHAN, DRUMMULLY, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1845
Nature: New church with 3-bay nave, chancel, vestries, porch and vestries.
Refs: Designs(s), s. & d. 1845, in RCB Library, portfolio 3A; church illus. in Clergy of Clogher (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2006), 47;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 530.
.

Building: CO. MONAGHAN, CARRICKMACROSS, CHURCH OF ST FINNBARR (CI, MAGHEROSS PARISH)
Date: 1845;1853-54
Nature: Proposed gallery on S side, 1845. Other works? 1853-54.
Refs: Unsigned design for gallery, dated Aug, 1845, and other drawings, signed and dated 1853 and 1854, in RCB Library, portfolio 3;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 217.


Building: CO. CORK, BALLYMONEY, CHURCH OF ST PAUL (CI)
Date: 1846
Nature: Proposed new church (replacing existing). Early English, with 3-bay nave, chancel, entrance porch, tower & spire to N.
Refs: Signed drawing(s), dated May 1846, in RCB Library, portfolio 8; B 4, 6 Jun 1846, 275 (notice of contract)

Building: CO. CORK, KILCULLY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1846
Nature: New church. Nave, chancel, lancet windows, W porch, robing-room to N of chancel, bellcote on W gable. Erected by private subscription. Conttract awarded Jul 1846.
Refs: Signed, dated drawings in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 9. see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1878-1883;  B 4, 1 Aug 1846, 371;  Christian Examiner, new series, no. 22, 1 Apr 1845, 401.

Building: CO. KILKENNY, KILMANAGH, CHURCH OF ST AIDAN (CI)
Date: 1846
Nature: New church (replacing mid-18th cent. one.). Early English. 3-bay nave with N porch & tower; 1-bay chancel with N robing room. W gable has 2 lancets with trefoil above, E end has 3 lancets.
Refs: Signed, dated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 24

Building: CO. DONEGAL, NEWTOWNCUNNINGHAM, CHURCH OF ALL SAINTS (CI)
Date: 1846
Nature: Proposed reseating and addition of robing room.
Refs: Signed drawing, dated Jun 1846, in RCB Library, portfolio 25.

Building: CO. LIMERICK, CROAGH, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1846-1850
Nature: New 5-bay church with bellcote on W end; 'a neat structure, and an evidence of what may be produced by a skilful hand for a small outlay'. Dedicated 30 Sep 1850.
Refs: Signed undated drawing, inscr. with date of dedication, in RCB Library, portfolio 22; B 9, 31 May 1851, 346; 10, 27 Nov 1852, 757

Building: CO. CORK, BANDON, CHURCH OF ST PETER (CI, BALLYMODAN PARISH)
Date: 1846-49
Nature: New church in Decorated Gothic style, with aisled nave,, transepts, chancel, vestry room , tower at NW. Replaced old church of 1614. FS laid 9 Mar 1847. Builder: Thomas Carroll. Attacked by dry rot and closed 3 weeks after consecration. (Extensively repaired, reroofed, outer parapet removed, 1963-64; rededicated, 1969.)
Refs: Signed drawing(s), dated 1846, in RCB Library, portfolio 8, and unsigned,undated plan, N & E elevations in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH);  Cork Constitution, 16 Mar 1847 (nformation from Roger Herlihy, Cork, Mar 2012); Ecclesiologist 7, Jan 1847, 36; B 9, 31 May 1851, 346; list of JW's principal works in obituary in DB 2, 1 Apr 1860, 232; George Bennett, History of Bandon (1869), 50; Richard J. Hodges, Cork and County Cork in the Twentieth Century (1911), 77; D.J. O'Donoghue, History of Bandon (1970), ?;  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 364(illus.).

Building: CO. DOWN, BALLYHALBERT, CHURCH OF ST ANDREW (CI)
Date: 1846;1850-52
Nature: New church at Ballyeasboro, designed 1846. FS laid 1 Mar 1850. Consecrated 24 Sep 1852.
Refs: Signed drawing(s), dated 1846, in RCB Library, portfolio 11;  Fred Rankin, ed., Clergy of Down and Dromore (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1996)41(illus.);  exterior also illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 184.

Building: CO. CORK, DESERTSERGES, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1847
Nature: Proposed alterations and enlargement (of church dating from 1806): i.e. new S wall, new square chancel, new windows in N wall.
Refs: Signed drawings, dated 18 Mar 1847, in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 8, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1775-1780.

Building: CO. CORK, KILMURRY, CHURCH OF ST ANDREW (CI)
Date: 1847
Nature: New church. 4-bay rectangular plan. Narrow round-headed windows. Dedicated by Bishop of Killaloe, 7 Dec 1847.
Refs: Designs, inscr. with date of dedication, in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 9, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1907-1911;  exterior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 368.

Building: CO. SLIGO, KILLERY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1847
Nature: New church with 4-bay nave, 1-bay chancel. N vestry. S porch. Early English. Bellcote on W gable.
Refs: Signed drawings, dated 24 Feb 1847, in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 1, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/46-48 (last visited, Mar 2017).

Building: CO. DUBLIN, LUSK, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1847
Nature: New church adjoining existing tower & ancient round tower. Early English. 3-bay nave, i-bay chancel. Crow-stepped parapets. Licensed for worship 13 Oct 1847.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 13; Clergy of Dublin & Glendalough (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2001), 131

Building: CO. CORK, CORK, COVE STREET, CHURCH OF ST NICHOLAS (CI, NEW)
Date: 1847-1850
Nature: New cruciform church in First Pointed style with N tower and spire replacing church of 1720. FS laid 11 Nov 1847. Nearly complete at beginning of 1850. Supervising architect: William Gillespie. Contractor: John De Courcy Butler. Cost: £6,800.   Spire not built until 1869-70.
Refs: Signed drawing(s), dated 1847, in RCB Library, portfolio 8 and MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH); Cork Constitution,13 Nov 1847 (information from Roger Herlihy, Cork, May 2011);  list of JW's principal works in obituary in DB 2, 1 Apr 1860, 232; B 8, 2 Feb 1850, 53; 9, 31 May 1851, 346; APSD II, C, 147; Richard J. Hodges, Cork and County Cork in the Twentieth Century (1911), ?;  Roger Herlihy, A Walk through the South Parish (Cork: Red Abbey Publications, 2010), 96-98(illus.).

Building: CO. OFFALY, KINNITTY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1847-1851
Nature: New church. Early English. Cruciform with W porch. Rose windows in transept gables. FS laid BY Captain Bernard of Castle Bernard, 27 Jul 1847. Dedicated 1 Oct 1851. Contractor: Elisha Sheppard, Parsonstown.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s), inscr. with date of dedication, in RCB Library,portfolio 19;  King's County Chronicle, 28 Jul 1847 (repr. in Adrian Hewson, ed., Inspiring Stones: a history of the Church of Ireland Dioceses of Limerick, Ardfert, Aghadoe, Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert, Kilmacduagh & Emly (1995), 172);  exterior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 397.
.


Building: CO. DOWN, BALLYWALTER, CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY (CI)
Date: 1847-49
Nature: New church to accommodate about 600. FS laid 1847. Consecrated 24 Sep 1849.
Refs: Signed drawing(s), dated 1847, in RCB Library, portfolio 11; B 9, 31 May 1851, 346; Fred Rankin, ed., Clergy of Down and Dromore (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1996),47(illus.);  exterior also illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 184.


Building: CO. TIPPERARY, CROHANE, CHURCH (CI, LISMALIN PARISH)
Date: 1847-54
Nature: New church.   3-bay nave, 1-bay chancel, bellcote on W gable, paired lancet windows. Completed by Jan 1855.
Refs: Signed designs, dated 24 Feb 1847 and 5 May 1852, in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio,  3,
see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/648-661;  B 10, 3 Apr 1852, 219; 13, 13 Jan 1855, 17;  Clergy of Cashel and Emly (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2012),  54(illus.);   exterior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 337.


Building: CO. TYRONE, CALEDON, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI)
Date: 1848
Nature: New lancet windows replacing round-headed ones, new robing room, new sittings.
Refs: Signed, undated drawings in RCB Library, portfolio 2A; J.B. Leslie, Armagh Clergy & Parishes  (1911), 52-4

Building: CO. DUBLIN, DUBLIN, HIGH STREET, ST AUDOEN'S CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1848
Nature: Repair of interior, new pews, unroofing of 10 ft of chancel. Builders: J. & E. Barker.
Refs: IB 28, 1 Nov 1886, 298

Building: CO. CORK, BANDON, CHRIST CHURCH (CI, KILBROGAN PARISH)
Date: 1848
Nature: Proposed addition of gallery. Builder: Kingston, Bandon.
Refs:

Building: CO. DERRY, BALLINDERRY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1849
Nature: New church built close to glebe house. Cons. 11 May 1849.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) for for proposed new Early English church with nave, S aisle, chancel, N robing room, S porch, bellcote on W gable in RCB Library, portfolio 2A; J.B. Leslie, Armagh Clergy, 124

Building: CO. ANTRIM, RAMOAN (BALLYCASTLE), CHURCH OF ST JAMES (CI)
Date: 1849a?
Nature: Enlargement of church of 1812 by addition of N aisle and robing room, W porch, new chancel arch and new windows throughout (Early English paired lancets). Consecrated1849.
Refs: Signed, undated plan and elevation in RCB Library, portfolio 7 (repr. in on-line catalogue www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org) ;  Clergy of Connor (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1993), 179.

Building: CO. CORK, GLENVILLE, CHURCH (CI, ARDNAGEEHY PARISH)
Date: 1850
Nature: Tenders invited for alterations and repairs, for Ecclesiastical Commissioners.
Refs: Design for repewing and internal rearrangment, signed and dated 20 Mar 1850, in  Representative Church Body Library, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1632 (last visited, Jan 2017);  B 8, 24 Aug 1850, 404.

Building: CO. LAOIS, ROSENALLIS, CHURCH OF ST BRIGID (CI)
Date: 1850
Nature: Enlargement of church built in 1790s, comprising addition of new chancel with robing room to N.
Refs: Drawing(s), signed & dated 1850, in RCB Library, portfolio 19

Building: CO. LAOIS, ROSENALLIS, CHURCH OF ST BRIGID (CI)
Date: 1850
Nature: Enlargement of church built in 1790s, comprising addition of new chancel with robing room to N.
Refs: Drawing(s), signed & dated 1850, in RCB Library, portfolio 19

Building: CO. DOWN, ARDGLASS, CHURCH OF ST NICHOLAS (CI)
Date: 1850
Nature: New spire replacing one blown down on 30 Oct 1848. Also reroofing and addition of north transept to original church of 1810-13.
Refs: Unsigned(?) drawing(s), dated 1850, in RCB Library, portfolio 11;  Fred Rankin, ed., Clergy of Down and Dromore (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1996), 31(illus.).

Building: CO. LIMERICK, KILLALIATHAN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1850
Nature: Proposed reseating.
Refs: Signed, dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 22

Building: CO. DONEGAL, GLENEELY, CHURCH OF ALL SAINTS (CI)
Date: 1850-1856
Nature: New church. Said to have been built by Miss Catherine Ball of Grousehall. Cons. 27 Mar 1856. (Glebe house built 1857.)
Refs: Signed design(s) dated May 1850, in RCB Library, portfolio 10 (under Culdaff); J.B. Leslie, Derry Clegy and Parishes (1937), 234; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 307; Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999), Pt. 1, 142(illus.)

Building: CO. SLIGO, AHANAGH (BALLINAFAD), CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1850-53
Nature: New church with 2-bay nave, 1-bay chancel & N robing room. Bellcote on W gable. Dedicated 27 Sep 1853
Refs: Signed, dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 16

Building: CO. DONEGAL, REDCASTLE, CHURCH OF ST FINIAN (CI, MOVILLE UPPER PARISH)
Date: 1850-53
Nature: New cruciform Early English church. Circular windows in transept gables. Bellcote on W gable. (Closed, 1991, and in ruins by 1999.)
Refs: Signed drawing(s), dated Oct 1850, in RCB Library, portfolio 10A; B 9, 18 Jan 1851, 46; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 476; Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999), Pt. 1, 169-70(illus.)

Building: CO. LIMERICK, GALBALLY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1850a
Nature: New church. Early English. 3-bay nave with single lancets. 1-bay chancel with 3 lancet windows. Porch, tower, spire on S. Dedicated 12 Aug 1850.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s), inscr. with date of dedication in RCB Library, portfolio 17

Building: CO. CAVAN, KILLINAGH, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1850ca
Nature: New church, 4-bay nave, 48' x 23'. Chancel, 15' x 12', N vestry, S porch. Bell turret on W gable.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 20;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 206;  illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 244.


Building: CO. CORK, GLANMIRE, CHURCH OF ST MARY & ALL SAINTS (CI, RATHCOONEY PARISH)
Date: 1850p
Nature: Addition of S aisle and chancel.  In or before 1859 JW also furnished unexecuted plans for church to be erected by means of private funds to replace one built in 1780s.
Refs: 3 signed, undated drawings (one on sheet watermarked 1850) for chancel, new aisle, pulpit desk & chancel rail in RCB Library, Portfolio 9, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1974-1976 (last visited, Feb 2017);   DB 1, 1 Mar 1859, 34.

Building: CO. DOWN, CLONALLON, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1851
Nature: Various works to be executed 'according to the plans of the Ecclesiastical Commissioners' architect'. (Church thought to date from 1660s).
Refs: B 9, 16 Aug 1851, 516;   Fred Rankin, ed., Clergy of Down and Dromore (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1996), 173.

Building: CO. MAYO, DERRYVOLLEN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1851
Nature: Sundry works to be executed to plans prepared by Ecclesiastical Commissioners' architect.
Refs: B 9, 5 Apr 1851, 221

Building: CO. TYRONE, CARRICKMORE, CHURCH OF ST COLUMBKILLE (CI, TERMONMAGUIRKE PARISH)
Date: 1851
Nature: Works (ie., according to Rowan, addition of chancel, robing room, Y-traceried windows (and spire?)) to be executed at same 'according to the plans of the Ecclesiastical Commissioners' architect'.
Refs: Unsigned undated drawings(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 2B; B 9, 16 Aug 1851, 516; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 167;  illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 130.


Building: CO. DOWN, HILLTOWN, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI, CLONDUFF PARISH)
Date: 1851
Nature: Works to be executed at same 'according to the plans of the Ecclesiastical Commissioners' architect'.
Refs: B 9, 16 Aug 1851, 516

Building: CO. ANTRIM, KILLEAD, CHURCH OF ST CATHERINE (CI)
Date: 1851
Nature: Works to be executed at church (dating from 1712) 'according to the plans of the Ecclesiastical Commissioners' architect'.
Refs: B 9, 16 Aug 1851, 516;  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013),  228 (illus.).

Building: CO. LIMERICK, PALLASGREEN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1851
Nature: Proposed enlargement by addition of N & S transepts, chancel, robing room, W tower with pinncles & stepped crenellations..
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 17; B 9, 21 Jun,20 Sep 1851, 393,600

Building: CO. DOWN, HILLTOWN, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI, CLONDUFF PARISH)
Date: 1851
Nature: Works to be executed 'according to the plans of the Ecclesiastical Commissioners' architect'.
Refs: B 9, 16 Aug 1851, 516

Building: CO. LOUTH, CASTLEBELLINGHAM, CHURCH (CI, KILSARAN PARISH)
Date: 1851-52
Nature: Remodelling to form structure with 3 bay nave, transepts chancel and robing room. W tower of former church retained, also some fabric incorporated in 2 transepts.
Refs: Drawing(s), signed and dated 12 May 1851, in RCB Library,portfolio 2B; also unsigned plan and elevations, inscr. as approved by Rev. R.L.P. McClintock, rector, 23 April 1851, and by the Archbishop of Armagh, 25 Feb 1851 in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH); J.B. Leslie, History of Kilsaran (1908), 57(illus.); Christine Casey & Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North Leinster (1993), 185 (which states wrongly that church is by Welland & Gillespie);  illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 124.

Building: CO. LIMERICK, LIMERICK, ST JOHN'S SQUARE, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI)
Date: 1851-52
Nature: Rebuilding. Neo-Norman. Nave with N & S aisles, tower & spire at W end of S side. Intended to accommodate 1000 persons. FS laid 15 Jan 1851. Dedicated 24 Jun 1852. Builder: Barker.
Refs: Signed undated drawings, inscr. with date of dedication, in RCB Library, portfolio 22; B 8, 12 Oct 1850, 488; 9, 1 Feb,31 May 1851, 77,346; DB 1, 1 Feb,1 Apr 1859, 17,43; APSD, L, 92 (gives date wrongly as 1843); M. Lenihan, Hisotry of Limerick (1866), 685 (also gives date wrongly as 1843)

Building: CO. MAYO, DUGORT (ACHILL ISLAND), CHURCH OF ST THOMAS (CI)
Date: 1851-52
Nature: New church.
Refs: Plans for two different churches (4-bay and 7-bay), both signed, larger, described as 'missionary church', dated 1851, in RCB Library, portfolio 26; also unsigned, undated ground plan and elevations in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH)

Building: CO. DOWN, KNOCKNAMUCKLEY (PORTADOWN), CHURCH OF ST MATTHIAS (CI)
Date: 1851-53;1859
Nature: Proposed enlargement by addition of vestry on S and porch on W, 1852, but Mulligan gives whole building to JW, Proposed enlargement, 1859. According to Rankin (Clergy of Down & Dromore), site was purchased 1844 and church was consecrated on Feast of St Matthias, 23 Feb 1853.
Refs: Design(s) for enlargement by addition of S vestry and W porch, s. & d. 1852, in RCB Library, portfolio 12; B 9, 31 May 1851, 346; DB 1, 1 Aug 1859, 104; Clergy of Down and Dromore (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1996), 207(illus.); exterior of church also illustrated in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013),  199;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 301.
 

Building: CO. ANTRIM, BALLYMENA, CASTLE STREET, CHURCH OF ST PATRICK (CI, KIRKINRIOLA OR KILCONRIOLA PARISH)
Date: 1851-55
Nature: New church on site at upper end of Castle St granted by Sir Shafto Adair, Bt. To accommodate about 1000. Eventual cost £8,000. FS laid Spring 1853. Completed Summer 1855. Contractors: Hugh & James Henry. (Destroyed by fire, apparently due to overheating of a flue, 18 Dec 1879.)
Refs: Unsigned, undated ground plan, S & E elevations in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH;  illus. in on-line drawings catalogue www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org); B 9, 16 Aug 1851, 516; 10, 11 Dec 1852, 786; 11, 9 Apr 1853, 235; 13, 18 Aug 1855, 395; listed as one of JW's principal works in obituary in DB 2, 1 Apr 1860, 232; Architect 29, 20 Dec 1879, 374;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 22, no. 1, 3 Jan 1880, 11,18.

Building: CO. WATERFORD, TRAMORE, CHURCH (CI, DRUMCANNON PARISH)
Date: 1851a
Nature: New cruciform church with W tower & spire. Early English. Rose windows in transept gables. Galleries in W, N & S. Dedicated 25 Mar 1851 by Bishop of Cashel.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 27; B 9, 3 May 1851, 281;  exterior and interior illus. in.Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 339 (which attributes design of church to Abraham Denny).

Building: CO. DERRY, COLERAINE, CHURCH OF ST PATRICK (CI, COLERAINE PARISH)
Date: 1851p
Nature: Proposed enlargement by addition of N transept, new chancel and robing room, new S aisle with porch. New windows in tower.
Refs: Signed, dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 7; B 9, 16 Aug 1851, 517; W.D. Girvan, Historic Buildings…in Coleraine and Portstewart (UAHS, 1972), 11-13; Simon Walker, Historic Ulster Churches (Institute of Irish Studies, 2000), 132.

Building: CO. MEATH, BALRATHBOYNE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1852
Nature: New church. In progress Dec 1852.
Refs: Signed drawing(s), dated 1857[surely 1852?] in RCB Library, portfolio 23; B 10, 11 Dec 1852, 786

Building: CO. GALWAY, CLIFDEN, CHRIST CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1852
Nature: Proposed new church. 7 bay nave lit by paired lancets. W entrance porch. Chancel with N vestry, S entrance tower and spire. (Tower and spire erected in or after 1864?)
Refs: Signed, dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 26; General Advertiser, 25 Jun 1864; exterior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 268. 

Building: CO. MAYO, NAPPAGH, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1852
Nature: New church to be erected according to drawings of Ecclesiastical Commissioners' architect.
Refs: B 10, 15 May 1852, 312

Building: CO. GALWAY, OUGHTERARD, CHURCH (CI, KILCUMMIN PARISH)
Date: 1852
Nature: Addition of transepts, chancel & robing room to existing nave & tower. Church reopened Aug? 1852.
Refs: Drawing(s), signed & dated Mar 1852, in RCB Library, portfolio 26; B 10, 4 Sep 1852, 570

Building: CO. TIPPERARY, CASTLETOWNARRA, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1852
Nature: New church. Early English, with 4-bay nave, porch and bell-tower to N. 1-bay chancel with robing room to S.
Refs: Unsigned ground plan and elevations, inscr. as approved by the Bishop and Rev. T.W. Bowles, rector, 15 Jan 1852, in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH); drawing(s) s. & d. 1852 in RCB Library, portfolio 19; B 10, 3 Apr 1852, 219

Building: CO. ROSCOMMON, DONAMON, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1852
Nature: New 5-bay, rectangular church with N vestry, S porch. Bellcote on W gable. Completed by Jan 1855.
Refs: Drawing(s), s. & d. 1852, in RCB Library, portfolio 16;  B 13, 13 Jan 1855, 17;  exterior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 249.

Building: CO. FERMANAGH, TAMLAGHT (ENNISKILLEN), CHURCH OF ST TIGHERNACH (CI, DERRYVULLEN SOUTH PARISH)
Date: 1852-1854
Nature: New church. FS laid by Earl of Belmore 17 Aug 1852. Site presented by Anthony Denny, Derryvullen (who also presented 'a large bell of exquisite tone and workmanship' in 1854). Church consecrated, 1854.
Refs: B 10, 17 Jan,5 Jun 1852, 46,359;  Armagh Guardian, 30 Jun 1854; J.B. Leslie, Clogher Clergy and Parishes (1929), 165; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979),227-8;  illus. in Clergy of Clogher  (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2006), 38.

Building: CO. DERRY, SWATRAGH, CHURCH (CI, KILLELAGH PARISH)
Date: 1852-1855
Nature: New church on new site (replacing one of 1815 in Glebe townland) built at expense of Mercers' Company. Nave, N transept, chancel, tower & spire. Early English. Diagonal buttresses. Consecrated, 18 Sep 1856.
Refs: Drawing(s), signed and dated Feb 1852, in RCB Library , portfolio 10A; B 10, 11 Dec 1852, 786; Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette I, No. 7 (Oct 1856), 122; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 498; Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999), Pt. 1, 84(illus.)

Building: CO. TIPPERARY, LOUGHMOE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1852-1856
Nature: New church. In progress 1852-53. Completed, 1856.
Refs: Book of plans by JW, in NLI A.D. 1942-1950 (there are also unsigned and undated drawings, plan, section, elevations, in Representative Church Body Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51ARCH), see also undated designs for seats, pulpit and reading desk, porch door and windows in W gable in RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/663,664 ;  B 10, 11 Dec 1852, 786; 11, 5 Feb 1853, 90;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette I, No. 5 (Aug 1856), 85.

Building: CO. LEITRIM, FARNAUGHT (LOUGH RYNN DEMESNE), CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI, CLOON PARISH)
Date: 1852-53
Nature: New chapel-of-ease (subsequently parish church) in Cloon parish with 5-bay nave, 2-bay chancel with robing room N, S porch. Early English. Bellcote on W gable. Incomplete in 1859 and apparently not opened until 8 Jan 1871. (NB. This church became the parish church in 1871 superseding the Board of First Fruits parish church of c.1821.)
Refs: Signed, undated designs in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 1, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/31-36 (last visited, Mar 2017);  set of signed drawings, one dated Apr 1853, in the collection of Marcus Clements, Killadoon, Co. Kildare, (nos. 35-44), also one drawing of north and east elevations by Welland & Gillespi, undated (no. 42);  A.P.W. Malcomson, The Clements Archive (Dublin: Irish Manuscripts Commission, 2010), 40,160,252,432-3,609,652;


Building: CO. LIMERICK, KILFINANE, CHURCH OF ST ANDREW (CI)
Date: 1852-54
Nature: New Early English church replacing one of 1760. Nave with S aisle, porch. Chancel with robing room to S. Tower and spire on N. Double lancet windows in nave. FS laid 19 Apr 1853.  Completed by Jan 1855.
Refs: Signed, dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 22, also unsigned ground plan, S & E elevation in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH);  B 13, 13 Jan 1855, 17; Adrian Hewson, ed., Inspiring Stones: a history of the Church of Ireland Dioceses of Limerick, Ardfert, Aghadoe, Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert, Kilmacduagh & Emly (1995), 58, 60(illus.)

Building: CO. CORK, SCHULL, CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY (CI)
Date: 1852-54
Nature: New church. 7-bay nave, chancel with robing room & porch. Bellcote at W end. 5 lancet window in E end. (According to Lewis, the 'small plain edifice' which it replaced dated from 1720.)  Completed by Jan 1855.
Refs: Drawing, signed and dated 1852, in RCB Library, portfolio 9, see;  B 13, 13 Jan 1855, 17;  exterior illus. in
Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013),367.

Building: CO. FERMANAGH, LISNASKEA, CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY (CI)
Date: 1852-54
Nature: New church. Consecrated 28 Sep 1854. 'The edifice is very handsomely furnished and refletects the highest credit on the Lord of the Soil under whose fostering care it has been reared.'
Refs: Design, May 1852, and ground survey by John Wray, 1852, in RCB Library, portfolio 3A;  Armagh Guardian, 29 Sep 1854; B 10, 31 Jan,5 Jun 1852, 76,359; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 359; Clergy of Clogher  (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2006), 71(illus.)  illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 152.

Building: CO. LAOIS, PORTARLINGTON, CHURCH OF ST PAUL OR 'FRENCH CHURCH' (CI)
Date: 1852a
Nature: Enlargement, comprising addition of new nave, robing room, entrance porch & tower off E end (connected by arcaded passage). Cost: £1,700.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 19; B 10, 11 Dec 1852, 786;  exterior and interior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 324.

Building: CO. MAYO, KNAPPAGH, CHURCH OF ST THOMAS (CI)
Date: 1852p
Nature: New church, glebe house & school to be erected. FS of church laid Jul? 1852.
Refs: B 10, 13 Mar,15 May,17 Jul 1852, 172,312,460

Building: CO. WEXFORD, KILNAMANAGH, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI)
Date: 1852p-54
Nature: To be enlarged or rebuilt. Completed by Jan 1855. (David Lawrence says, Mar 2009, that present church looks all of one date, see illus. in Gloine, http://www.gloine.ie/gloine/building/building/2900/ , last visited Mar 2009.)
Refs: Signed undated design for enlargement by addition of new chancel & robing room in RCB Library,folio 17; B 10, 3 Apr 1852, 219; 13, 13 Jan 1855, 17;  exterior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 344. .

Building: CO. DONEGAL, BALLYMORE, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI, CLONDEHORKY PARISH)
Date: 1853
Nature: Addition of single-storey vestry to N; advancing of pulpit and reading desk towards nave.
Refs: Drawing(s), signed and dated 1853, in RCN library, portfolio 25; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 123-4; Simon Walker, Historic Ulster Churches (Institute of Irish Studies, 2000), 54

Building: CO. TIPPERARY, BALLINGARRY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1853
Nature: To be rebuilt.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 19; B 11, 30 Apr 1853, 279

Building: CO. DERRY, EGLINTON, CHURCH OF ST CANICE (CI, FAUGHANVALE PARISH)
Date: 1853
Nature: Survey drawing by Alexander Hardy, Aug 1853, showing new N & S transepts, robing room, new window in N.wall, in RCB. Architect: J. Welland.
Refs: Drawing, signed and aug 1853 in RCB Library, portfolio 10A; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 273; Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999), Pt. 1, 78(illus.)

Building: CO. DUBLIN, DALKEY, CHURCH OF ST PATRICK (CI)
Date: 1853
Nature: Proposed adds.(organ gallery, additional galleries in S transept and W end, stairs to S gallery, robing room behind chancel &c.).
Refs: Signed, dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 13 (photocopies in IAA, Jones file W40).

Building: CO. DUBLIN, DUBLIN, CHURCH AVENUE (RATHMINES), CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY (CI)
Date: 1853
Nature: Proposed enlargement comprising addition of transepts & chancel.
Refs: Signed drawing(s), approved by Board 1853, in RCB Library, portfolio 13

Building: CO. CORK, PASSAGE WEST, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI, MARMULLANE PARISH)
Date: 1853
Nature: Proposed addition of S aisle.
Refs: Signed designs (one annotated 'Write Mr Gillespie/enquiring what provision was made/ in Estimate for windows/ JW/April 26th/53' in Representative Church Body Library, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1956-1958 (last visited, Jan 2017).

Building: CO. KERRY, BALLYBUNION, CHURCH (CI, KILLEHENNY PARISH)
Date: 1853-1858
Nature: New church. Consecrated, 26 Aug 1858.. (Deconsecrated, 1957, and demolished, 1958.)
Refs: Signed undated designs in RCB Library, portfolio 2, see RCB Architectural Drawings, http://www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org, last visited, Feb 2016;   B 11, 14 May 1853, 315;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 30 (Sep 1858), 605.

Building: CO. MEATH, BECTIVE, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1853a;1858
Nature: New church built and endowed at sole expense of Rochard Bolton of Bective Abbey. Opened Jan? 1853. Consecrated, 13 Oct 1856. Chancel added 1858.
Refs: Signed undated design for addition of chancel in RCB Library, portfolio 23; B 11, 5 Feb 1853, 90; 16, 7 Aug 1858, 539; Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette I, No. 8 (Nov 1856), 151;  Christine Casey & Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North Leinster (1993), 162.

Building: CO. CORK, CARRIGROHANE, CHURCH OF ST PETER (CI)
Date: 1854
Nature: Proposed addition of extra bay to W end of nave.
Refs: Plan, s.J. Welland,  Jan1854, in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 8, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1694 (last visited, Jan 2017).

Building: CO. CAVAN, CAVAN, CHURCH (CI, URNEY PARISH)
Date: 1854
Nature: 2 new transepts, new chancel and vestry. William Hague contractor.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) and 2 letters to Welland from William Hague, 25 Oct 1854, and A. Hardy explaining how a mistake in chancel arch occurred, in RCB Library, portfolio 20; B 12, 11 Mar 1854, 133

Building: CO. DERRY, TAMLAGHTARD, CHURCH OF ST CADAN (CI)
Date: 1854
Nature: Adds. & alts. comprising new chancel & robing room, new gallery with stairs & new window lighting same.
Refs: Drawing(s), signed & dated Mar 1854 in RCB Library, portfolio 10A; Simon Walker, Historic Ulster Churches (Institute of Irish Studies, 2000), 67

Building: CO. TIPPERARY, CLONULTY, CHURCH OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST (CI)
Date: 1854
Nature: New church on site of mediaeval one.. 3-bay rectangular plan with W porch, N robing room & porch. (church closed, 1976.)
Refs: Signed undated designs (and one ground plan by Welland & Gillespie, 3 Aug 1864)  in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 3, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/617-22 (last visited, Mar 2017);   B 12, 11 Mar 1854, 133;  Clergy of Cashel and Emly (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2012), 50(illus.),51 

Building: CO. WICKLOW, DELGANY, CHRIST CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1854
Nature: To be enlarged.
Refs: B 12, 10 Jun 1854, 305

Building: CO. TIPPERARY, CASTLETOWN ARRA, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1854
Nature: Churh completed by Ecclesiastical Commissioners by Jan 1855.
Refs: B 13, 13 Jan 1855, 17.

Building: CO. TIPPERARY, TEMPLEMORE, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1854
Nature: Enlargement at NE angle to create robing room, new E window and other windows, open timbered roof, seating, reader's desk , chancel rail.

Refs: Drawings in Representative Church Body Library, see RCB Library, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/675-682 (last visited, Mar 2017).

Building: CO. DONEGAL, BALLINTRA, CHURCH (CI, DRUMHOLM PARISH)
Date: 1854-1855
Nature: Proposed alts. to church of 1795, consisting of new robing room, new windows (throughout), new reading desk and pulpit, new side galleries.
Refs: Drawing(s), signed and dated Jul 1854, in RCB Library, portfolio 25; B 13, 18 Aug 1855, 395; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 117;  F.W. Fawcett and D.W.T. Crooks, eds., Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999), 134(illus.).

Building: CO. CORK, INNISHANNON, CHRIST CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1854-1856
Nature: New church. Nave, N transept, S porch, tower & spire. Chancel with robing room to N. FS laid Jun or Jul 1854; consecrated 1856. Builder: James Turner. tower of earlier church (St Mary's), rebuilt 1761, remained.)
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 9, also signed plan and elevations in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51ARCH), See RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/browse/3?search=innishannon&submit_search=Search (last visited, Jan 2017);  B 12, 15 Jul 1854, 378; inscription in church; JCHAS (1907), 58,60;  exterior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 364.

Building: CO. ANTRIM, BALLYNURE, CHRIST CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1854-1856
Nature: New church. Gothic, with 3-bay nave, 58 x 26'6"; chancel with robing room; S porch; bellcote on W gable; buttresses at angles. Built on graound given by Conway R. Dobbs of Castle Dobbs. Consecrated, 19 Aug 1856.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s)in RCB Library, portfolio 6 (repr. in on-line catalogue www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org);  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette I, No. 6 (Sep 1856), 105;  C.E.B. Brett, Buildings of Co. Antrim (1996), 60(illus.);  exterior also illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 216.


Building: CO. DUBLIN, CLONDALKIN, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI)
Date: 1854-1858
Nature: Enlargement & reconstruction of church
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 13; B 12, 10 Jun 1854, 305; 16, 10 Jul 1858, 469

Building: CO. TIPPERARY, SILVERMINES, CHURCH (CI, KILMORE PARISH)
Date: 1854-55
Nature: New church replacing that of 1814 but incorporating existing W tower. 4-bay nave with paired lancets. N porch. 1-bay chancel with robing room to S. E window with intersecting tracery. Dedicated 9 Aug 1855.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing, inscr. with date of dedication, in RCB Library, portfolio 19; B 12, 18 Feb 1854, 89

Building: CO. ARMAGH, DRUMCREE, CHURCH OF THE ASCENSION (CI)
Date: 1854-56
Nature: Reconstruction of church (described by Lewis, 1837, as 'a large ancient building'), retaining existing tower and spire, carried out under superintendence of William Fullerton. Reconsecrated Oct or Nov 1856. Builder: Hugh Henry & Son. Cost nearly £3,000. Entrance gate and sexton's house also erected..
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 2B; plan, S & E elevations, stamped by Ecclesiastical Commissioners, 18 May 1854, in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH); B 13. 13 Oct 1855, 486; 14, 8 Nov 1856, 609;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 510-11;  illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 124.

Building: CO. ROSCOMMON, KILBRYAN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1854-56
Nature: New 6-bay church, with N vestry, porch, tower & spire. Early English. Proposed belfry in W gable. Dedicated 7 Aug 1856.
Refs: Signed drawing, inscr. with date of dedication, in RCB Library, portfolio 16; B 11, 8 Jan 1853, 29; 12, 10 Jun 1854, 305

Building: CO. CORK, KINSALE, CHURCH OF ST MULTOSE (CI)
Date: 1854;1856-57
Nature: Works ordered by Ecclesiastical Commissioners: removal of interior woodwork & flooring; new floor of paving, cement and Bath stone in passages & chancel; replacing of woodwork; throwing transept into church; new robing room by S transept; walk on S side of church. Contractor: Hunter, Bandon.
Refs: Drawings, 1854,1856-7, in Representative Church Body Library, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1930-1940;  JCHAS (1893), 36

Building: CO. CORK, CARRIGROHANE, CHURCH OF ST PETER (CI)
Date: 1854a
Nature: Addition of tower spire and porch.
Refs: Unsigned, undated elevation and plan in Representative Church Body Library, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1692 (last visited, Jan 2017).

Building: CO. CORK, CARRIGROHANE, CHURCH OF ST PETER (CI)
Date: 1854a
Nature: E window, repewing and new furnishing.
Refs: Signed, undated designs in Representative Church Body Library, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1693 (last visited, Jan 2017).

Building: CO. CAVAN, BILLIS, CHURCH OF ST BARTHOLOMEW (CI)
Date: 1855
Nature: Proposed addition of tower, retaining N door..
Refs: Signed drawing(s) dated 1855 in RCB Library, portfolio 20

Building: CO. CORK, BANDON, CHRIST CHURCH (CI, KILBROGAN PARISH)
Date: 1855
Nature: Extension of nave, re-flooring, re-roofing, re-pewing. New E window, new organ, new tower & spire. Builder: Matthew Parrett. (Church dates from 1610; deconsecrated, 1973).
Refs: Signed, undated alternative designs for enlargement in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 9, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1870 (last visited, Jan 2017); B 13, 10 Nov 1855, 542; George Bennett, History of Bandon (1869), 26

Building: CO. DERRY, KILDOLLAGH, CHURCH OF ST PAUL (CI)
Date: 1855
Nature: New church, with 5-bay nave, N transept, chancel, robing room, S porch & bellcote on W gable. Dedicated Dec 1855.
Refs: Signed drawings, some inscr. with date 12 Apr 1854, and one insc. with date of dedication, in RCB Library, portfolio 7 (repr. in on-line catalogue www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org)..

Building: CO. ARMAGH, ANNAGHMORE (PORTADOWN), CHURCH OF ST FRANCIS (CI)
Date: 1855-1861a
Nature: Proposed new district church: cruciform with vestry in angle of chancel and S transept. Entrance porch at W end. Traceried E window. Tenders invited, Feb 1855;  proposal of Richard Cherry, Loughgall, accepted.  Consecrated, 7 Jul 1861.
Refs: Signed undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 2A;  Armagh Guardian, 15 Feb,1 Jun 1855; 19 Jul 1861;   B 13, 3 Mar 1855, 105;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 80;  illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 120.

Building: CO. MEATH, KILDALKEY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1855-56
Nature: New Early English church with 6-bay nave and chancel. Bellcote on W gable. Consecrated 28 (or 23?) Oct 1856. Builder: Sharpe.
Refs: Signed, dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 23;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette I, No. 8 (Nov 1856), 151;  B 14, 15 Nov 1856, 629

Building: CO. ANTRIM, CARNMONEY, CHURCH OF THE HOLY EVANGELISTS (CI)
Date: 1855-56
Nature: New church consisting of nave, chancel, north and south transepts with tower at W end. Consecrated 24 Dec 1856. Cost: £1,860. E window by William Wailes; transept windows and 4th side window by James Warrington, London.
Refs: Signed, undated drawings for chancel, tower details and gallery in RCB Library, portfolio 7;  B.H. Blacker, 'Sketches of Irish Churches' in Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 14, no. 152, 23 Nov 1872, 11; Clergy of Connor (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1993), 127;  laude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 222(illus.).

Building: CO. MEATH, LARACOR, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1855-57
Nature: New church, with 4-bay nave, 1-bay chancel. S porch. Early English, with lancet windows. Consecrated, 15 Jul 1857.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 23;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, No. 17 (JAug 1857), 341; Christine Casey & Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North Leinster (1993), 523.

Building: CO. SLIGO, LISSADELL, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1855-58
Nature: Rebuilding. Early English. 5-bay nave with N aisle, chancel, tower & spire, S porch Church dedicated 4 Jun 1858. Contractor: Lynn, Sligo. 11 windows by Warrington installed.  CErected by Ecclesiastical commissioners at cost thought to be about £3,200. (According to Costegalde & Walker, this was a remodelling of a church built and endowed by Sir Robert Gore-Booth of Lissadell House in the early 1840s.)
Refs: Signed undated design for new church, inscr. with 2 dates of dedication, viz. 7 Jun 1841 and 4 Jun 1858, in RCB Library, portfolio 16; B 13, 18 Aug 1855, 395; 15, 5 Dec 1857, 706;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 27, 548,;  Morning Chronicle, 17 Jun 1858 (information from Frank Keohane, Mar 2010); Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 248 (illus.).

Building: CO. DONEGAL, MILFORD, CHURCH OF ST COLUMBA (CI)
Date: 1855;1858-1860
Nature: New Gothic Revival church with 5-bay nave, short chancel. . Built 1858-60. Consecrated 7 Aug 1860. (Demolished post 1984, leaving chancel only.)
Refs: Signed, undated designs (in envelope stamped 1855) in RCB Library, portfolio 25; B 12, 15 Jul 1854, 378; 13, 3 Mar 1855, 105; Leslie, Raphoe Clergy, 109; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 421; Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999), Pt. 1, 165(illus., showing porch only remaining)

Building: CO. WESTMEATH, RATHCONNELL, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1855;1859-1860
Nature: Adds. & alts. to church of 1790s, comprising new vestry, 1855, refitting of interior, 1859?;new chancel with apse and new windows throughout, 1860
Refs: Drawings, signed and dated 1855 (vestry) & 1860 (chancel), in RCB Library, portfolio 23; B 17, 22 Jan 1859, 68

Building: CO. DONEGAL, RAMELTON, CHURCH OF ST PAUL (CI, TULLYAUGHNISH PARISH)
Date: 1856
Nature: Addition of single-bay chancel and robing room; new roof.
Refs: Drawing(s), signed and dated 1856, in RCB Library, portfolio 25; Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999), Pt. 1, 179(illus.)

Building: CO. DONEGAL, CARRIGANS, CHURCH OF ST FIACH (CI, KILLEA PARISH)
Date: 1856
Nature: Addition of chancel.
Refs: Plan and letter from A. Hardy, Omagh, (presumably to J. Welland), 1856, noting that 'Clergyman wishes the lights of the new East Window to have similar (semi-O) heads'.

Building: CO. DOWN, ANNAHILT, CHURCH OF THE ASCENSION (CI)
Date: 1856
Nature: New church. Consecrated 29 Jul 1856. (Attr. to William Fullerton by J.F. Rankin, on grounds that Deed of Consecration says that WF condemned the old church.)
Refs: Drawing(s), signed and dated 1856, in RCB Library, portfolio 12;  Fred Rankin, ed.,  Clergy of Down and Dromore (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1996),167(illus.);  exterior also illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 196.


Building: CO. WICKLOW, BLESSINGTON, CHURCH OF ST MARY THE VIRGIN (CI)
Date: 1856
Nature: Proposed adds & alts to church of 1683: N aisle, N & S transepts, robing room on N, N porch. Also new widows in E end and nave.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 18;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette I, No. 3 (Jun 1856), 54;  exterior and interior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 300.

Building: CO. GALWAY, KILLERORAN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1856
Nature: New cruciform Early English church with bellcote on W gable. Dedicated 3 Aug 1856. (Chapel-of-ease in parish of Roscommon.)
Refs: Signed, undated drawing, inscr. with date of dedication, in RCB Library, portfolio 16

Building: CO. CORK, DUNMANWAY, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI, FANLOBBUS PARISH)
Date: 1856
Nature: Proposed addition of chancel and opening of new window in N wall.
Refs: Plan and elevations in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 8, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1826 (last visited, Jan 2017);.  Richard J. Hodges, Cork and County Cork in the Twentieth Century (1911), 89;  exterior illus.. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 366.

Building: CO. CLARE, RATHBORNEY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1856
Nature: New church consisting of 6-bay hall with S porch, N vestry & W bellcote.
Refs: Signed drawing(s), postmarked 1856, in RCB Library, portfolio 19

Building: CO. TYRONE, GORTIN, CHURCH OF ST PATRICK (CI, LOWER BADONEY PARISH)
Date: 1856
Nature: New church, replacing church of 1730, with 7-bay nave & chancel, robing room, N & W porches. Coupled lancet windows to nave. Cost: £1921.15s.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 10; J.B. Leslie, Derry Clergy, 106; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 311.;  illus. in )Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999),40.

Building: CO. CORK, FERMOY, CHRIST CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1856
Nature: Addition of S transept.
Refs: Drawings in Representaitv Church Body Library, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1135 (last visited, Feb 2017).

Building: CO. CORK, FERMOY, CHRIST CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1856
Nature: Addition of S transept. New pulpit and reader's desk.
Refs: Designs (including 2 tracings of contract drawings dated 10 Sep 1856) in Representative Church Body Library, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1135-1150 (last visited, Feb 2017);  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 18, no. 210, 24 Oct 1876, 325.

Building: CO. CORK, YOUGHAL, COLLEGIATE CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1856
Nature: Proposed repewing in nave, aisles and transepts.
Refs: Signed plan, inscribed 'A Copy of this Plan sent for Faculty February 185', in Representative Church Body Library, sere RCB Library - Architectural Drawings https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1280 (last visited, Feb 2017).

Building: CO. KERRY, BROSNA, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1856-58
Nature: New church. 4-bay nave with semi-circular chancel. Robing room S. Porch, circular tower N. Round headed windows. FS laid by Maurice F. Sandes, Jul? 1856.  Dedicated 7 Sep 1858. (Deconsecrated, 1960, and demolished, 1963.)
Refs: Signed drawing(s) inscr. with date of dedication in RCB Library, portfolio 2, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org (last visited, Feb 2016);  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette I, No. 5 (Aug 1856), 85.

Building: CO. DERRY, MAGHERAFELT, CHURCH OF ST SWITHIN (CI)
Date: 1856-58
Nature: New cruciform Gothic church. FS laid St Swithin's Day, 1856. Contractor: Henry & Sons. Cost £7,000-£8,000. Site and £4000 given by Salters' Company. FS laid, 15 Jul 1856 (St Swithin's Day; dedication to St Swithin probably because Salters' Hall in London was then in St Swithin's Lane.) £1,000 contributed by Ecclesiastical Commissioners. (Spire rebuilt in 1993.)  Consecrated, 7 Apr 1858. Stained glass by Ward of London.
Refs: Unsigned, undated st of drawings in RCB Library, portfolio 2B, also plans, elevations, signed J. Welland, one inscr. as approved by Archbishop of Armagh Rev. C.K. Irwin, rector in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH);  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 5 (Aug 1856), 85; no. 25 (Apr 1858), 497; no. 27 (Jun 1858), 548;   B 14, 2 Aug 1856, 426; IB 1, 1 Apr 1860, 232 (obituary of JW); Leslie, Armagh Clergy, 366; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 411-12; R. Oram, Expressions of Faith: Ulster's Church Heritage (2001), 107-8(illus.);  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 128(illus.).


Building: CO. DERRY, TOBERMORE, CHURCH OF ST CRONAGHAN (CI, KILCRONAGHAN PARISH)
Date: 1856-58
Nature: New church with 6-bay nave, N transept, chancel with robing room to N, S porch. 3-light Early English E window. Bell turret on W gable. FS laid Jun? 1856. FS laid, 20 Jun 1856. Consecrated Apr or May 1858. Contractor: Birnie & Co.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 10A; Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette I, No. 4, 72.J.B. Leslie, Derry Clegy and Parishes (1937), 237. Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 500;  exterior of church illus. in Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999), 83, and Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 16. 

Building: CO. MONAGHAN, KILLEVAN, CHURCH OF ST LABAN (CI)
Date: 1856-58
Nature: New parish church built. Tenders invited, Apr 1856. FS laid, 14 Nov 1856. Consecrated, 20 Apr 1858. Builder: Thomas Henry Carroll, Dublin. Stained glass window in W gable presented by Rev. John Flanagan, rector of Forkhill, Co. Armagh, in memory of his uncle Dr Thomas Campbell, former rector of Killevan.
Refs: Inscription on stone tablet over entrance (information from David Lawrence, Jan 2010);  Armagh Guardian, 25 Apr 1856;  IB 16, 23 Oct 1858, 712;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette, 1, no. 9 ((Dec 1856), 173; no. 27 (Jun 1858), 548;    J.B. Leslie, Clogher Clergy and Parishes (1929), 214; illus. in Clergy of Clogher (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2006), Part 1, 64;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 371. (NB. A History of Killevan Parish (not seen) was published in Monaghan by the incumbent, Rev.Victor H Foster, in 1958.)


Building: CO. KERRY, KENMARE, CHURCH OF ST PATRICK (CI, NEW)
Date: 1856-59
Nature: New church on different site from that of old church (1814), given by Lord Lansdowne. Chancel, nave & N aisle.  It is intended to have a handsome tower and spire, towards which a large contribution has been made by Lord Lansdowne. Superintending architect: William Gillespie. Windows presented by John Townsend Trench.  Church consecrated and dedicated, 31 Aug 1858. Tower & spire, 'just completed' in Oct 1859. Contractor: D.W. Murphy, Bantry.
Refs: Elevations, plan, sections, details in RCB Library, portfolio 2, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org (last visited, Feb 2016);  Cork Examiner, 8 Sep 1858 (information from Roger Herlihy, Cork, Mar 2011);  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 31 (Oct 1858), 622;  DB 1, 1 Nov 1859, 147;  J.B Leslie, ed. D.W.T. Crooks. Clergy of Limerick - Clergy of Ardfert and Agahadoe: biographical succession lists (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2015), 147(illus.); also illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 389.

Building: CO. LIMERICK, BALLINGARRY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1856a
Nature: New church. 3-bay nave with paired lancet windows, porch, tower & spire to S. 1-bay chancel with N vestry. Circular window at W end. Dedicated 18 Sep 1856. (Church closed, 1923, and demolished ca 1950.)
Refs: Signed drawing(s) inscr with date of dedication in RCB Library, portfolio 19; illus. in Adrian Hewson, ed., Inspiring Stones: a history of the Church of Ireland Dioceses of Limerick, Ardfert, Aghadoe, Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert, Kilmacduagh & Emly (1995), 92;  exterior illus. in Clergy of Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert and Kilmacduagh (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2010), 36.

Building: CO. DOWN, ANNAHILT, CHURCH OF THE ASCENSION (CI)
Date: 1856a
Nature: Consecrated 29 Jul 1856.
Refs: Simon Walker, Historic Ulster Churches (Institute of Irish Studies, 2000), 186

Building: CO. CORK, KINNEIGH, CHURCH OF ST BARTHOLOMEW (CI)
Date: 1856a
Nature: New church near round tower with 6-bay nave, S porch (round arch with columns). Round headed windows & chancel arch. Consecrated 27 Aug 1856.
Refs: Signed drawing, inscr. with date of dedication, in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 9, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1926-1929;  B 14, 20 Sep 1856, 517;  exterior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 367.

Building: CO. LIMERICK, DOON, CHRIST CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1856a
Nature: New 5-bay, Early English church, with paired lancet windows. Chancel, N robing room, S porch supporting belfry tower and spire. Rose window in W gable. Dedicated 25 Jul 1856
Refs: Signed undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 17;  B 9, 20 Sep 1851, 600.

Building: CO. LEITRIM, CORRAWALLEN, CHURCH OF ST COLUMBA (CI)
Date: 1857
Nature: New district church in diocese of Kilmore consecrated, 20 Aug 1857. Site granted by John Godley, Sen., Esq.  (Somewhat similar to Newtowngore church.)
Refs: Signed, undated tracings in RCB Library, portfolio 20;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 19 (Oct 1857), 377;  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 242.

Building: CO. LOUTH, TULLYALLEN (MELLIFONT), CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1857
Nature: Extensive improvements 'recently effected' (Apr 1859).
Refs: Signed drawing(s) for proposed new sittings dated 3 Oct 1857 in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 2B;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 36 (apr 1859), 708.

Building: CO. LAOIS, KILLERMOGH, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1857
Nature: Alts.
Refs: Signed, dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 24

Building: CO. LIMERICK, BRUFF, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1857
Nature: New church, incorporating existing tower and spire, with 3-bay nave, chancel & vestry to S. Dedicated 30 Jul 1859.
Refs: Plan, elevations, signed J. Welland and stamped by Ecclesiastical Commissioners, 27 Apr 1857, also appended sketch and measurement by Dan Kirby, 15 Apr 1857, in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH); also signed drawing(s) for new church , inscr with date of dedication, in RCB Library, portfolio 22

Building: CO. TIPPERARY, CLONMEL, MARY STREET, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1857
Nature: Almost total rebuilding, but retaining E & W windows, chancel arch, lower storey of tower, aisle walls, 3-light porch window (from White chapel).
Refs: W.P. Burke, History of Clonmel (1901), 263; JRSAI 19 (1909), 252-254;  exterior and interior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 339.

Building: CO. CAVAN, KILDRUMSHERDAN, CHURCH OF ST MARK (CI, KILLESHERDONEY PARISH))
Date: 1857
Nature: New church, replacing late Georgian one. 3-bay nave, 1-bay chancel. S porch, N robing room. Angle buttresses. Bell turret on W gable.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 20;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 557;  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 241(illus.).
 


Building: CO. MAYO, TOURMAKEADY, CHURCH (CI, BALLYOVIE PARISH)
Date: 1857
Nature: Proposed new church (already descr. as proposed in 1851) with nave, chancel, N robing room S tower & spire.
Refs: B 9, 8 Mar,16 Aug 1851, 152,516; signed drawing, dated 1857, in RCB Library, portfolio 26

Building: CO. CARLOW, CLONMORE, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI)
Date: 1857
Nature: Memorial window to Hon. Mrs Stopford. Contractor: Faircloth & Lynch, Carlow. Painted glass by Sillery, Dublin.
Refs: Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 21 (Dec 1857), 417;   B 15, 5 Dec 1857, 706

Building: CO. MEATH, STACKALLAN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1857
Nature: To be altered to plans by architect to Ecclesiastical Commissioners.
Refs: B 16, 15 May 1858, 341

Building: CO. TIPPERARY, TIPPERARY, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1857-1864
Nature: 'The church was extensively rebuilt in 1857-64 by Joseph Welland with the addition of a north transept.'
Refs: Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 337(illus.).

Building: CO. FERMANAGH, DRUMKEERAN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1857-59
Nature: Church of 1774 enlarged and re-roofed 'according to plans by Mr Welland'.
Refs: Survey drawing by A. Hardy, 1857, and unsigned, undated drawing for extension to W of nave making T plan church cruciform, also porch and robing room, in RCB Library, portfolio 3A;  Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 17 (Aug 1857), 341;  DB 1, 1 Jan 1859, 9; J.B. Leslie, Clogher Clergy and Parishes (1929), 181;  Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 323).

Building: CO. MONAGHAN, CLONES, DIAMOND, CHURCH OF ST TIGHERNACH (CI)
Date: 1858
Nature: Conversion of base of tower into chancel and addition of transepts and vestries. Clerk of Works: Alexander Hardy.
Refs: Drawings of proposed new transepts and galleries and 2 letters from A. Hardy, Derry, 1858, to J. Welland in RCB Library, portfolio 3; B 16, 7 Aug 1858, 539;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 272.


Building: CO. KILDARE, TIMAHOE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1858
Nature: New church.
Refs: Signed, dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 21

Building: CO. CORK, CORK, SUMMERHILL, CHURCH OF ST LUKE (CI)
Date: 1858
Nature: Proposed enlargement.
Refs: B 16, 7 Aug 1858, 539

Building: CO. MEATH, KELLS, CHURCH OF ST COLMCILLE (CI)
Date: 1858
Nature: New chancel added.
Refs: B 16, 7 Aug 1858, 539

Building: CO. MONAGHAN, CASTLEBLAYNEY, CHURCH STREET, CHURCH OF ST MAELDOID (CI, MUCKNO PARISH)
Date: 1858-1860
Nature: New church in Early English style, with nave, transepts and chancel to designs by Ecclesiastical Commissioners' architect. Also proposed tower. FS laid, 2 Dec 1858. Opened, 1 Jul 1860. ontractor: (Thomas Henry?) Carroll. 
Refs: Signed plan and elevations, inscr. as appr. by Archbp. of Armagh, 26 Apr 1858, and stamped by Ecclesiastical Commissioner, 27 Apr 1858, in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH) also unsigned, undated plans in RCB Library, portfolio 3A; B 16, 7 Aug 1858, 539; 18, 27 Oct 1860, 688; IAA, PKS A03 (May 1860, p.37v;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 32 (Dec 1858), 633; 2, no. 13, 15 Jul 1860, 351; DB 4, 15 Oct 1862, 269; illus. in Clergy of Clogher (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2006), Part 1, 78;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 230.


Building: CO. TIPPERARY, NENAGH, CHURCH ROAD, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1858-1860
Nature: New church, with nave, chancel, S aisle, N & S porches, vestry room, tower & spire. Organ gallery at W end of nave (Telford organ) and circular window in W gable. Knocknamuckley stone. Also parochial buildings, i.e. lofty stable with stands for 10 horses, large carriage shed supported on metal columns, forming two sides of spacious yard.  Original drawings by J. Welland but work completed by Welland & Gillespie. 3-light E window by A.L. Moore & Co., London. Consecrated,19 Dec 1860. Total cost about £4,000. Contractor: J. Hunter, Bandon.
Refs: Unsigned, undated drawing(s) for 'intended new church to be erected on a site bounded by Grace's St, Folvey's La & Summerhill' in RCB Library, portfolio 19; also plans and elevations, inscr. as approved by the Board (1 Sep 1858) and Bishop of Killaloe (11 Sep 1858) in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH);  IB 3, 1 Jan 1861, 391; Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 2, no. 19 (15 Jan 1861), 25;  B 19, 23 Feb 1861, 129; illus. in Adrian Hewson, ed., Inspiring Stones: a history of the Church of Ireland Dioceses of Limerick, Ardfert, Aghadoe, Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert, Kilmacduagh & Emly (1995), 145,146

Building: CO. WEXFORD, GOREY, CHRIST CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1858-1861
Nature: New cruciform church with circular tower with conical roof.   Nave, full-length aisles, transept 'and three rows of open stalls'(?).  2 magnificent arches, one over chancel and one over transept, together with 4 smaller arches 'joining the massive pillars which are to support the roof'.  Limestone from Courtown Harbour, with granite dressings from Blessington, Co. Wicklow.   Builder: John Butler, Wellington Place, Dublin.  To cost about £6,000, of which £500 raised by voluntary subscription and the remainder contributed by Ecclesiastical Commissioners'. Opened 27 Mar 1861 and consecrated 6 Jun 1862.
Refs: Signed drawing(s), inscr.'Appvd. May 1858' in RCB Library, portfolio 17, and ground plan, N & E elevations, signed 'J. Welland' in RCB Library,MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH);  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 2, no. 4, (15 Oct 1859), 76; no. 36 (15 Jun 1862), 514;  DB 3, 1 Jan,1 Apr 1861, 391,472; B 22, 6 Aug 1864, 589;  exterior and interior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 347.

Building: CO. LONGFORD, LANESBOROUGH, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI, RATHCLINE PARISH)
Date: 1858-1862
Nature: Rebuilding of church of 1678. Nave, chancel, S porch & gable bellcote.Building started in spring of 1859.
Dedicated 23 Apr 1862.
Refs: Unsigned, undated drawing, inscr. with date of dedication,Representative Church Body Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH), see also RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/65-73 (last visited, Mar 2017);  B 16, 13 Nov 1858, 766;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 36 (Apr 1859), 708;  Christine Casey & Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North Leinster (1993), 372; exterior illus.in Clergy of Kilmore, Elphin and Ardagh (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2008), 300, and  in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 249.

Building: CO. KERRY, WATERVILLE, CHURCH OF ST MICHAEL & ALL ANGELS (CI, DROMOD & PRIOR PARISHES)
Date: 1858-59
Nature: New church. with 3-bay nave, 1-bay chancel, S porch, N robing room, W bellcote.  FS laid, Mar(?) 1859.Consecrated 29 Sep 1866. Contractor: D.W. Murphy, Bantry. (Chancel added later?)
Refs: Plan, E & W elevations, signed 'J. Welland' and stamped by Ecclesiastical Commissioners, 17 Aug 1858, in Representative Church Body Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH); also unsigned drawing(s) for new church in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 2, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/152-154 (last visited, Feb 2016);  DB 1, 1 Apr,1 Nov 1859, 43,47;   Adrian Hewson, ed., Inspiring Stones: a history of the Church of Ireland Dioceses of Limerick, Ardfert, Aghadoe, Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert, Kilmacduagh & Emly (1995), 109-110(illus.);  illus. in J.B Leslie, ed. D.W.T. Crooks. Clergy of Limerick - Clergy of Ardfert and Agahadoe: biographical succession lists (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2015), 144.

Building: CO. KERRY, WATERVILLE, CHURCH OF ST MICHAEL & ALL ANGELS (CI, DROMOD & PRIOR PARISHES)
Date: 1858-59
Nature: New church. with 3-bay nave, 1-bay chancel, S porch, N robing room, W bellcote.  FS laid, Mar(?) 1859.Consecrated 29 Sep 1866. Contractor: D.W. Murphy, Bantry. (Chancel added later?)
Refs: Plan, E & W elevations, signed 'J. Welland' and stamped by Ecclesiastical Commissioners, 17 Aug 1858, in Representative Church Body Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH); also unsigned drawing(s) for new church in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 2, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/152-154 (last visited, Feb 2016);  DB 1, 1 Apr,1 Nov 1859, 43,47;   Adrian Hewson, ed., Inspiring Stones: a history of the Church of Ireland Dioceses of Limerick, Ardfert, Aghadoe, Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert, Kilmacduagh & Emly (1995), 109-110(illus.);  illus. in J.B Leslie, ed. D.W.T. Crooks. Clergy of Limerick - Clergy of Ardfert and Agahadoe: biographical succession lists (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2015), 144.

Building: CO. DERRY, CLAUDY (NR), CHURCH (CI, CUMBER UPPER PARISH)
Date: 1858-60
Nature: New Gothic church built 'in accordance with the plans of the late Mr Welland' on site granted by William Browne, Cumber House.  Has nave, aisles, porch, spire, belfry, stained and varnished open roof, and contains sittings for 400 persons. Contractor: Mssrs. McElwee. Cost: £3,000. To seat 400. consecrated summer, 1860. Cost nearly £3000.
Refs: Plan, S, W & E elevations, signed J. Welland and stamped by Ecclesiastical Commissioners, 13 Feb 1858, in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH); also unsigned undated plans for new church in RCB Library, portfolio 10; DB 2, 1 Aug 1860, 317; B 18, 11 Aug 1860, 512; Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 2, no. 14 (15 Aug 1860), 380;  Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999), Pt 1, 62(illus.)

Building: CO. TIPPERARY, BALLINTEMPLE (DUNDRUM), CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1858-61
Nature: New cruciform church to accommodate 240 with tower and spire.  Site given by Viscount Hawarden. Cost: £1,600. FS laid by Viscount Hawarden  on 9 Apr 1859.  Consecrated July? 1861. Designed by late JW. Builder: Thomas Waldron, Abbeyleix.
Refs: Signed drawings, dated 23 Jul 1858, in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 3, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/597-604;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 36 (Apr 1859), 708; DB 2, 1 Aug 1860, 317; 3, 1 Aug 1861, 591; B 19, 24 Aug 1861, 585;  Clergy of Cashel and Emly (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2012),  334(illus.),35. 

Building: CO. LIMERICK, ATHLACCA, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1858?
Nature: New Early English church.
Refs: Signed undated drawings (many of which are missing) in RCB Library, portfolio 22 (a note with these drawings reads: 'the drawing with the full Gothic [illeg.] sent June 3rd '58')

Building: CO. DERRY, DUNGIVEN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1858?
Nature: Proposed repewing. Church reopend after repairs and improvements, Mar 1858.
Refs: Undated drawing, initialled JW, in RCB Library, portfolio 10;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 25 (Apr 1858), 497.

Building: CO. MAYO, KILMAINE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1858a
Nature: New church consecrated, 4 Aug or 4 Sep 1858.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing for new church with 4-bay nave, W bellcote & S porch, 1-bay chancel in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 26;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1. no. 29 (Aug 1858) 586;  no. 30 (Sep 1858), 605.

Building: CO. CORK, DRIMOLEAGUE, CHURCH OF ST MATTHEW (CI)
Date: 1858a
Nature: New church on new site consisting of nave, N transept, chancel with N porch and robing room. Early English. Capable of holding 260 persons.  Chancel window by 'an eminent English firm'. Fittings from French of Bolton-le-Moors'. 'Architect' (i.e., presumably, builder) Joseph Bryan, Dunmanway. Stained glass window in chancel put in by incumbent, Rev. M.L. Connor. New church consecrated, 10 Sep 1858.
Refs: Signed, undated drawings in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 8, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/1792-1805 ; B 16, 2 Oct 1858, 665;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 31 (Oct 1858), 622. 

Building: CO. ROSCOMMON, TOOMNA, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1858p
Nature: Sundry works to be executed by Ecclesiastical Commissioners' architect.
Refs: B 16, 7 Aug 1858, 539

Building: CO. WEXFORD, CAMOLIN, CHURCH (CI, TOMB PARISH)
Date: 1858p
Nature: Extensive works to be carried out to designs by archt. to Ecclesiastical Commissioners.
Refs: Unsigned, undated drawing(s) for new N vestry, pulpit, sittings in RCB Library, portfolio 10; B 16, 18 Dec 1858, 857; DB 1, 1 Jan 1859, 9

Building: CO. DERRY, DESERTOGHILL, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1858p
Nature: Extensive works to be carried out to designs by archt. to Ecclesiastical Commissioners.
Refs: Unsigned, undated drawing(s) for new N vestry, pulpit, sittings in RCB Library, portfolio 10; B 16, 18 Dec 1858, 857; DB 1, 1 Jan 1859, 9

Building: CO. GALWAY, AUGHRIM, CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY (CI)
Date: 1858p
Nature: Extensive works to be executed.
Refs: Plans showing existing and proposed rearrangement of pews, design for new reader's desk, pulpit, dated 1 Jan 1858, in Representative Church Body Library, see see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/989-993;   B 16, 13 Nov 1858, 766

Building: CO. WATERFORD, KILLOTERAN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1858p
Nature: New church, with 3-bay nave, S entrance porch. Chancel with robing room to N. Early English. Bellcote on W gable.
Refs: Signed drawing, approved 1858, in RCB Library, portfolio 27

Building: CO. MEATH, CLONGILL, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1858p-1860
Nature: Enlarged and 'refitted in the gothic style'. Contractor: P. Sharpe, Navan. Reopened Jan 1860?
Refs: B 16, 15 May 1858, 341;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 2, no. 7 (15 Jan 1860), 147.

Building: CO. MEATH, CASTLERICKARD, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1858p-1860
Nature: Proposed enlargement 'according to plans &c. by the architect to Ecclesiastical Commissioners'.
Refs: B 16, 15 May 1858, 341

Building: CO. GALWAY, PORTUMNA, CHRIST CHURCH (CI, LICKMOLASSY PARISH)
Date: 1859
Nature: Works to be executed at same to plans by architect to Ecclesiastical Commissioners.
Refs: B 17, 5 Mar 1859, 174

Building: CO. CORK, CLONDROHID, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859
Nature: Proposed addition of tower with pyramidal roof to W.
Refs: Signed, dated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 5

Building: CO. KILDARE, LEIXLIP, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1859
Nature: Proposed refitting under the direction of Mr Welland.
Refs: DB 1, 1 Aug 1859, 104

Building: CO. TYRONE, DRUMNAKILLY, CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY (CI)
Date: 1859
Nature: Proposed enlargement 'under the direction of the architect to Ecclesiastical Commissioners' (i.e. JW?).
Refs: Unsigned, undated drawing(s) for extension of nave westwards by 19 ft in RCB Library, portfolio 2B;  DB 1, 1 Aug 1859, 104

Building: CO. TYRONE, STEWARTSTOWN, CHURCH OF ST PATRICK (CI, DONAGHENDRY PARISH)
Date: 1859
Nature: Proposed enlargement under direction of Mr Welland.
Refs: DB 1, 1 Aug 1859, 104

Building: CO. DERRY, TAMLAGHT O'CRILLY, CHURCH (CI, TAMLAGHT O'CRILLY UPR PARISH)
Date: 1859
Nature: Chancel, new sittings, pulpit &c. By J. Welland & Son.
Refs: Drawings, undated, one unsigned and one signed J. Welland & Son, in RCB Library, portfolio 10A

Building: CO. KILDARE, MAYNOOTH, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1859
Nature: Proposed restoration of ruined W end of nave.
Refs: Signed, dated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 18;  exterior and interior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 314. 

Building: CO. TYRONE, DRUMQUIN, CHURCH (CI, LANGFIELD LOWER PARISH)
Date: 1859
Nature: 'Ecclesiastical Commissioners are about having sundry works executed' at same (to designs by JW?).
Refs: DB 1, 1 Sep 1859, 115; B 17, 17 Sep 1859, 615

Building: CO. MONAGHAN, KILLANNY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859
Nature: To be rebuilt under direction of Mr Welland. 3-bay nave, chancel, 5-light E window. 86 sittings. (In ruins.)
Refs: Unsigned, undated drawings in RCB Library, portfolio 3A; B 17, 16 Jul 1859, 475; DB 1, 1 Aug 1859, 104; ruined church illus. in Clergy of Clogher (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2006), Part 1, 63;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 226.


Building: CO. MONAGHAN, INNISKEEN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859
Nature: 'Ecclesiastical Commissioners are about having sundry works executed' at same (to designs by JW?).  According to Mulligan, whole church was rebuilt to designs by JW in 1854, using materiials from older structure on site.         
Refs: Undated designs by JW for proposed rebuilding (raising roof, new seating &c.) in RCB Library, portfolio 3A; DB 1, 1 Sep 1859, 115; B 17, 17 Sep 1859, 615; illus. in Clergy of Clogher (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2006), Part 1, 61;  Kevin V. Mulligan, The Buildings of Ireland: South Ulster (2013), 357.


Building: CO. FERMANAGH, KILLESHER, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI)
Date: 1859
Nature: 'Ecclesiastical Commissioners are about having sundry works executed' at same (to designs by JW?).
Refs: DB 1, 1 Sep 1859, 115; B 17, 17 Sep 1859, 615; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 301

Building: CO. CORK, RATHCORMAC, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859
Nature: 'Ecclesiastical Commissioners are about having sundry works executed' at same (to designs by JW?).
Refs: DB 1, 1 Sep 1859, 115; B 17, 17 Sep 1859, 615

Building: CO. SLIGO, AHAMPLISH, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859
Nature: Extensive works at same, including re-roofing, for Ecclesiastical Commissioners.
Refs: Unsigned, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 16; B 17, 26 Nov 1859, 782

Building: CO. WICKLOW, ARKLOW, CHURCH (CI, OLD)
Date: 1859
Nature: New tower. Builder: Mssrs. Barker.
Refs: Unsigned, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 18; DB 1, 1 Apr 1859, 43

Building: CO. ANTRIM, BALLYMONEY, CHURCH OF ST PATRICK (CI)
Date: 1859
Nature: Proposed refitting 'under the direction of the architect to Ecclesiastical Commissioners' (i.e. JW?)
Refs: DB 1, 1 Aug 1859, 104

Building: CO. ANTRIM, WHITEHOUSE, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI)
Date: 1859
Nature: Proposed enlargement by addition of S transept (involving removal of chancel wall?).  (Brett attributes design of adds. to Lanyon.)
Refs: Drawings, signed J. Welland & Son and dated 1859, in RCB Library, portfolio 7 (repr. in on-line catalogue www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org);  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 18 (Sep 1857), 361;  C.E.B. Brett, Buildings of County Antrim (UAHS, 1996), 55(illus.).

Building: CO. GALWAY, ERRISLANNAN, CHURCH OF THE TRINITY (CI)
Date: 1859
Nature: Works to be executed at same to plans by architect to Ecclisiastical Commissioners.
Refs: B 17, 5 Mar 1859, 174.

Building: CO. KERRY, KILLARNEY, MAIN STREET, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: 1859-1860
Nature: Proposed new church (or alts)?
Refs: Plans and elevations, signed by J. Welland and J. Welland & Son, one ground plan inscr. 'Approved by the Bishop of Limerick and the churchwardens, 14 May 1859' and another stamped by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, 11 Jan 1860, in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH)

Building: CO. LIMERICK, CAHIRNARRY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859-1860
Nature: Proposed new church (to replace church of church of 1810) with 3-bay nave, lancet windows, S porch; chancel with S robing room
Refs: Unsigned, dated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 22, and ground plan, S & E elevations, signed 'J. Welland & Son' and stamped by Ecclesiastical Commissioners, 13 Jul 1859, in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH)

Building: CO. KERRY, KILMALCHEDAR, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859-1860
Nature: Small, 3-bay church with bellcote, S porch and fuel store by J. Welland & Son. FS laid Summer 1860. Builder: George McDonnell.
Refs: Plan and levations, signed 'J. Welland & Son' and inscr. 'Approved by the Bishop of Limerick, 24 Mar 1859' in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH; ) also unsigned drawing(s), 1860, in RCB Library, portfolio 2), see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org (last visited, Feb 2016); DB 1, 1 Jun 1859, 75; 2, 1 Aug 1860, 317; B 18, 11 Aug 1860, 512

Building: CO. CORK, LISLEE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859-1860
Nature: West gallery.
Refs: Design(s) for proposed W gallery, signed 'J. Welland & Son' and dated 1859, in RCB Library, portfolio 25; JCHAS (1922), 76

Building: CO. FERMANAGH, IRVINESTOWN, CHURCH (CI, DERRYVULLEN NORTH PARISH)
Date: 1859-1860
Nature: Addition of chancel and transepts to E of existing church. Tenders invited Nov 1860.
Refs: Signed drawings for proposed gallery, E window and chancel, 1859 & 1860, in RCB Library, portfolio 3A; DB 2, 1 Dec 1860, 380; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 321.

Building: CO. DUBLIN, DUBLIN, SIMMONSCOURT ROAD, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI, DONNYBROOK PARISH)
Date: 1859-1860
Nature: Enlargement by addition of transepts, chancel & robing room. Builder: George Farrell. Cost: £3000. Church reopened, 28 Oct 1860.  Fittings by Digges of Lincoln Place.
Refs: Undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 13; DB 1, 1 Aug 1859, 103; B 17, 20 Aug 1859, 556; Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 2, no. 4 (15 Oct 1859), 75; no. 17, 15 Nov 1860, 463; 22, no. 22, 29 May 1880, 428;   B.H.Blacker, History of the parishes of Booterstown & Donnybrook (1861), ?.

Building: CO. ANTRIM, BELFAST, NEWTOWNARDS ROAD (BALLYMACARRETT), CHRIST CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859-1860
Nature: Enlargement of church built 1826-7. Consecrated 17 Jun 1860. (Replaced in 1890s by St Patrick's Church)
Refs: Signed, undated alternative designs in RCB Library, portfolio 11; DB 1, 1 May 1859, 60; Clergy of Down & Dromore (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1996), Pt 1, 56,57(illus.)

Building: CO. DONEGAL, MOUNTCHARLES, CHRIST CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859-1861
Nature: New 3-bay church with paired lancet windows, chancel, W bellcote.  Consecrated, May or June 1864.
Refs: Plans & elevations, signed 'J. Welland' in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH); unsigned, undated plans and elevations of church with no chancel in RCB Library, portfolio 25; B 17, 5 Mar 1859, 173;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 6, no. 60 (18 Jun 1864), 145; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 426; F.W. Fawcett and D.W.T. Crooks, eds., Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999), 166(illus.)

Building: CO. CORK, GLANDORE, CHRIST CHURCH (CI, KILFAUGHNABEG PARISH)
Date: 1859-1861
Nature: New Early English church with 3-bay nave & S transept withrose window in gable. SW tower & spire. By J. Welland & Son. Dedicated 12 Sep 1861.
Refs: Set of 16 drawings, signed J. Welland & Son, dated 1859-60 and inscr. with date of dedication, in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 25, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/2025-2040 (last visited, Feb 2017); JCHAS (1923), 32; JCHAS (1929), 13;  exterior and interior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 374.

Building: CO. TYRONE, COOKSTOWN, CHURCH STREET, CHURCH OF ST LURAN (CI, DERRYLORAN PARISH)
Date: 1859-1861
Nature: Enlargement 'to designs by the architect to the Ecclesiastical Commissioners' retaining only tower, spire and westernmost bay of nave of earlier church. Contractor: Richard Cherry, Loughgall. Consecrated, 19 Dec 1861.
Refs: Unsigned, undated design for enlargement retaining on W end of original church in RCB Library, portfolio 2A; also ground plan, S elevation (3 copies?) signed 'J. Welland & Son' in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH); DB 1, 1 Jul 1859, 89;  Armagh Guardian, 7 Oct 1859;  R.W. Oram & P.J. Rankin, Historic Buildings in…Dungannon & Cookstown (UAHS, 1971), 27(illus.),29(No. 49);  Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 215.

Building: CO. TYRONE, PLUMBRIDGE (NEAR), CHURCH (CI, UPPER BADONEY PARISH)
Date: 1859-1861
Nature: Extensive works (to church of 1784), including addition of new chancel and robing room. Tenders invited Mar 1861.
Refs: DB 1, 1 Aug 1859,103; 3, 15 Mar 1861, 460; unsigned drawing, dated 1860, in RCB Library, portfolio 10; North West Ulster, 454;  illus. in Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999),  41.

Building: CO. DUBLIN, DUBLIN, JAMES'S STREET, CHURCH OF ST JAMES (CI)
Date: 1859-1861
Nature: New cruciform church partly erected on foundations of former church. Archts: Welland & Son. Builder: Thomas Henry Carroll. estimated cost nearly £500.  Opened 16 Dec 1860. 
Refs: Ground plan and S elevation, signed 'J. Welland' in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH); B 17, 22 Jan,21 May 1859, 68,344; 19, 12 Jan 1861, 29;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 34 (Feb 1859), 670; 2, no. 18, 15 Dec 1860, 497;  DB 3, 1 Jan,1 May 1861, 390,498;  Irish Churchman, 2, no. 4, 15 May 1869, 52 (article on church including description of old church);  Christine Casey, The Buildings of Ireland: Dublin (2005), 625.

Building: CO. DUBLIN, DUBLIN, ZION ROAD (RATHGAR), ZION CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859-1861
Nature: New cruciform Gothic church and school. Designed by Joseph Welland & Son. Church opened for worship 1 Nov 1861, tho' already 'completed for some time'. Consecrated, 21 Nov 1862. Funds of 'some £10,000' for erection provided by John Gold, stockbroker, of Cullenswood Lodge, Dublin. Builder: Cockburn & Son. Limestone with Portland stone dressings; Caen stone used for internal arches & columns. Work supervised by Mr McAllister. Endowment of £110 p.a. for minister.
Refs: Unsigned, undated plans and elevations in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH) also? in portfolio 15;   B 11, 30 Apr 1853, 279; 17, 2,16 Jul 1859, 444,475;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, No. 3 (Jun 1856), 54; 4, NO. 42 (15 Dec 1862), 643;   Irish Times, 6 Jul 1859;  DB 1, 1 Aug 1859, 2 Nov 1861, 104; 3, 1 Nov 1861, 671; 4, 15 Feb,1 Jul 1862, 43,166(illus.); IB 36, 15 Oct 1894, 235(illus.);  B.H. Blacker, 'Sketches of Irish Churches' in Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 14, no. 159, 21 Aug 1872, 174;  exterior illus. in Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 298.

Building: CO. WEXFORD, HORETOWN, CHURCH OF ST JAMES (CI)
Date: 1859-1862
Nature: New church with five-bay nave and chancel. South porch. Early English windows. Diagonal buttressing, &c. Licensed for worship Jan 1859, and opened, 6 Feb 1859.  Dedicated 20 (or 30/) May 1862.
Refs: Drawing(s), signed and dated 30 May 1862, in RCB Library, portfolio 17; photographs of the building of this church in IAA; Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 31 (Oct 1858), 622; no. 34 (Feb 1859), 669; no. 36 (15 Jun 1862), 514;   J.B. Leslie, Ferns Clergy and Parishes (1936), 179; exterior illus. in Clergy of Waterford, Lismore and Ferns (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2008), 445.


Building: CO. DERRY, DERRY, CATHEDRAL OF ST COLUMB (CI)
Date: 1859-1862
Nature: Extensive adds & alts. General rearrangement of interior, comprising removal of present gallery and pewing  and their replacement with 2 small ewestern galleries and new pews;  also erection of suitable stalls.   Work supervised after JW's death by Welland & Gillespie. Church reopened 1 May 1862. Builder: James Henry.
Refs: Drawings, some signed by Welland & Gillespie, Oct 1861, others unsigned and undated, and some sketches by A. Hardy, in RCB Library, portfolio 10; DB 1, 1 Aug 1859, 104; 4, 15 Apr,1,15 May 1862, 89,112,123; Irish Ecclesiastical Gasette 2, no. 29 (15 Nov 1861), 231;  Simon Walker, Historic Ulster Churches (Institute of Irish Studies, 2000), 22

Building: CO. ROSCOMMON, CROGHAN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859-1862
Nature: New church in Early English style. 50 x 29 ft.  4-bay nave with single bay chancel, S robing room, porch to N of nave. By J. Welland & Son. Consecrated, Easter Tuesday 1862. Spire to be added later. Cost: £1,200.
Refs: Drawing(s), s. 'J. Welland & Son' & dated Aug 1859 in RCB Library, portfolio 16; B 16, 10 Jul 1858, 470; DB 1, 1 Mar 1859, 34; 4, 1 May 1862, 112;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 4, no. 35 (15 May 1862), 482; Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 247(illus.).

Building: CO. DUBLIN, DUN LAOGHAIRE, MOUNT TOWN LOWER, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI)
Date: 1859-1864
Nature: New church erected in parish of Monkstown by means of private funds. Consecrated Summer 1864.
Refs: Plan, S & W elevations (some signed by JW?) in RCB Library, MS.139 (C:\WP51ARCH); DB 1, 1 Mar 1859, 34; 6, 1 Jul 1864, 132

Building: CO. ANTRIM, BELFAST, SUFFOLK ROAD, CHURCH OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST (CI, UPPER FALLS PARISH)
Date: 1859-61
Nature: New church. Consecrated 27 May 1861. Builder: John(?) Henry.
Refs: Ground plan and south elevation, signed J. Welland, in RCB Library, MS 139, (C:\WP51\ARCH), also unsigned undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 6; DB 1, 1 Jun 1859, 75; 3, 1 Jun 1861, 530; B 19, 22 Jun 1861, 430; Clergy of Connor (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1993), 123

Building: CO. GALWAY, RENVYLE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859;1861-64
Nature: New church by JW & Son on site given by Capt. E. Blake, Renvyle House.  4-bay nave with S porch, 1-bay chancel, W bellcote. Built under supervision of Welland & Gillespie after JW's death. Contractor: Stringer & Emerson, Clifden.  Consecrated, 2 Sep 1864.
Refs: Drawing(s), signed 'J. Welland & Son' and dated 1859, in RCB Library, portfolio 26, also ground plan, S & W elevations, signed 'J. Welland & Son' in RCB Library,MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH); DB 3, 15 Sep 1861, 637; B 19, 12 Oct 1861, 699;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 6, no. 63 (17 Sep 1864), 196.

Building: CO. KILKENNY, FIDDOWN, CHURCH (CI, FIDDOWN PARISH, OLD)
Date: 1859?
Nature: ?Proposed new church (or alts?) by J. Welland & Son. (Not executed?)
Refs: Ground plan, S elevation, porch plan, signed 'J. Welland & Son' in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH)

Building: CO. DONEGAL, GREENAN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859a
Nature: New chapel of ease in parish of Moville erected under superintendence of JW.  (Costegalde & Walker date church to 1852.)
Refs: DB 1, 1 Mar 1859, 34;  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 164.

Building: CO. ARMAGH, ANNAREA, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859a
Nature: New chapel of ease in parish of Kilmore has been erected under superintendence of JW.
Refs: Signed undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 2B; DB 1, 1 Mar 1859, 34

Building: CO. WICKLOW, BRAY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1859ca?
Nature: Proposed new church? or alts? or surveys?
Refs: Plans, elevations, signed J. Welland and J.Welland & Son in RCB Library, MS 139 (C:\WP51\ARCH);

Building: CO. DERRY, BALLYKELLY, CHURCH OF ST FINDLUGANUS (CI, TAMLAGHT FIN
Date: 1859p
Nature: To be enlarged by addition of north aisle.
Refs: Drawing(s) signed J. Welland & Son, Nov 1859 in RCB Library, portfolio 10A; DB 1, 1 Dec 1859, 165; Simon Walker, Historic Ulster Churches (Institute of Irish Studies, 2000), 69

Building: CO. TYRONE, CAPPAGH (OMAGH), CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1860
Nature: Proposed new church.(Not executed. Possibly for a proposed chapel-of-ease in the parish?)
Refs: Signed drawing(s) dated Oct 1860 in RCB Library, portfolio 10

Building: CO. KERRY, VALENTIA ISLAND, CHURCH OF ST JOHN THE BAPTIST (CI, KILMORE PARISH)
Date: 1860
Nature: New church replacing 'small plain building with a square tower, erected in 1815' (Lewis). 3-bay nave with paired lancet windows, N porch. Chancel lit by 3 lancets, with robing room N. Bellcote at W end.
Refs: Signed, undated designs in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 2, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/221-231 (last visited, Feb 2017); Adrian Hewson, ed., Inspiring Stones: a history of the Church of Ireland Dioceses of Limerick, Ardfert, Aghadoe, Killaloe, Kilfenora, Clonfert, Kilmacduagh & Emly (1995), 113(illus.)

Building: CO. CORK, BLACKROCK, CHURCH ROAD, CHURCH OF ST MICHAEL (CI)
Date: 1860
Nature: Proposed addition of N & S transepts.
Refs: Drawing(s) signed 'J. Welland & Son' and dated 1860 in RCB Library, portfolio 8; DB 2, 1 Jul 1860, 301

Building: CO. ROSCOMMON, ARDCARNE, CHURCH OF ST BEAIDH (CI)
Date: 1860
Nature: Church refitted following destruction by fire in spring of 1858.  Opened Jul 1860 and consecrated, 13 Oct 1860, Additions and alterations. include new E window and porch on W side of N transept.
Refs: Signed, undated, drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 16; DB 2, 1 Feb 1860, 204;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 25 (Apr 1858), 497; 2, no. 13 (15 Jul 1860), 350; no. 15, 15 Oct 1860, 435; no. 16 (15 Oct 1860), 435.

Building: CO. CAVAN, CLOVERHILL, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI)
Date: 1860
Nature: St John's Church, Cloverhill...was consecrated in 1860 as a chapel of ease for the parish of Annagh.  Designed by Joseph and William J,. Welland in the Gothic-revival style, the cost of constructing the church, amounting to over £4,400, was provided by the local landlord, Mary Anne Sanderson, who also provided the site for the building.'
Refs: Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 239(illus.).

Building: CO. MEATH, RATHMOLYON, CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1862?
Nature: New entrance porch-cum-tower & spire built as memorial to Bishop Robert Fowler.
Refs: Drawing(s) signed 'J. Welland' and dated 1862[?] in RCB Library, portfolio 23; Christine Casey & Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North Leinster (1993), 458;  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 315(illus.).

Building: CO. CLARE, RATHBOURNEY (BALLYVAUGHAN), CHURCH (CI)
Date: 1862a
Nature: New church, consecrated 4 Sep 1862. (Bought by RC church in 1939 and re-erected at Noughaval, 1942-43.)
Refs: Tom May, Churches of Galway, Kilmacduagh and Kilfenora (Galway, 2000),  136-7(illus.)

Building: CO. CLARE, KILKEE, CHURCH OF ST JAMES (CI, KILFIERAGH PARISH)
Date: 1864
Nature: Proposed addition of W gallery.
Refs: Drawing signed 'J. Welland' and dated 1863[?] in RCB Library, portfolio 19; General Advertiser, 23 Apr 1864

Building: CO. DONEGAL, BUNDORAN, CHRIST CHURCH (CI, FINNER PARISH)
Date: 1865a
Nature: Design for new church.
Refs: Set of 14 signed, undated drawings for church as built in RCB Library, portfolio 3A (repr. in on-line catalogue www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org);  exterior illus. in Clergy of Clogher  (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2006) and  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 240.

Building: CO. DONEGAL, BUNDORAN, CHRIST CHURCH (CI, FINNER PARISH)
Date: 1865a
Nature: Design for new church.
Refs: Set of 14 signed, undated drawings for church as built in RCB Library, portfolio 3A (repr. in on-line catalogue www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org);  exterior illus. in Clergy of Clogher  (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2006) and  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 240.

Building: CO. DONEGAL, BUNDORAN, CHRIST CHURCH (CI, FINNER PARISH)
Date: 1865a
Nature: Design for new church.
Refs: Set of 14 signed, undated drawings for church as built in RCB Library, portfolio 3A (repr. in on-line catalogue www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org);  exterior illus. in Clergy of Clogher  (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2006) and  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 240.

Building: CO. FERMANAGH, CLOGH, CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed new roof for Clogh church, built 1828, in the diocese of Clogher (i.e. Cos. Monaghan, Fermanagh, Donegal, Tyrone & Louth).
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 3;  Claude Costegalde & Brian Walker, The Church of Ireland: an illustrated history (2013), 145.

Building: CO. FERMANAGH, AGHADRUMSEE, CHURCH OF ST MARK (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed new gallery, staircase and pew.
Refs: Signed undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 3

Building: CO. DONEGAL, MANORCUNNINGHAM, CHURCH (CI, RAYMOCHY PARISH)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed interior alts: rearrangement of sittings, reading desk and pulpit; semi-circular steps, alts to interior of tower entrance.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 25

Building: CO. DERRY, AGHADOWEY, CHURCH OF ST GUARE (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: New chancel, robing room and W gallery; new door and window in W tower.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 10; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 105; Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999), Pt. 1, 37(illus.)

Building: CO. DOWN, COMBER, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed addition of new gallery and tower.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 11

Building: CO. LOUTH, BALLYMASCANLON, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed new gallery supported on metal columns. (Existing gallery not supported on metal columns.)
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 2A;  information from Dr David Lawrence, Gladestry, Powys, Jul 2012.

Building: CO. ARMAGH, CREGGAN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed new sittings, pulpit, reading desk, E. & N windows.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 2A

Building: CO. LIMERICK, BALLINGARRY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed enlargement (of old church?) by adding 2 bays to E.
Refs: Signed, undated drawings in RCB lLbrary, portfolio 22

Building: CO. GALWAY, ANNAGHDOWN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: New church incorporating old W porch. 3-bay rectangle with bellcote to W.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 26

Building: CO. WESTMEATH, COLLINSTOWN, CHURCH OF ST FECHIN (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed addition of N transept.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 23

Building: CO. WESTMEATH, DELVIN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed addition of N transept and porch. 2-light Early English windows.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 23

Building: CO. MAYO, BALLYSAKEERY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed addition to existing church (built 1810) of new robing room to S and new window in centre of S wall.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 19

Building: CO. CARLOW, CLOYDAGH, CHURCH OF ST JOHN THE EVANGELIST (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Alts.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB LIbrary, portfolio 21

Building: CO. MONAGHAN, MONAGHAN, COUNTY GAOL
Date: ?
Nature: JW architect of same (project inherited from Bowden after latter's death in 1821?).
Refs: Obituary of JW in DB 2, 1 Apr 1860, 232

Building: CO. MONAGHAN, GLASLOUGH, CHURCH OF ST SALVATOR (CI, DONAGH PARISH)
Date: ?
Nature: New buttresses to tower of 1670.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 3A; illus. in Clergy of Clogher (Ulster Historical Foundation, 2006), 41

Building: CO. MEATH, GIRLEY (ATHBOY), CHURCH OF ST MARGARET (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Unsigned undated design for new church in diocese of Meath. Early English. 5-bay nave, chancel, S robing room, N porch. Angle buttresses. Bellcote on W gable with lean-to for bell ringer. Described as ready for consecration 'soon' in Jul 1857.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 23;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, No. 16 (Jul 1857), 323. 

Building: CO. CARLOW, TULLOW, CHURCH OF ST COLUMBA (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed new robing room.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 21

Building: CO. CORK, AGLISH, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: New church. Henry Hill possibly supervising architect.
Refs: 9 signed, undated drawings in RCB Library, Portfolio B, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, http://www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org (last visited, 18 Feb 2016);  set of designs for church by Welland among Hill drawings in collection of Myrtle Allen, Ballymaloe, Co. Cork (photographed by IAA, neg. no. S/2320/9-10.

Building: CO. DOWN, KILWARLIN UPPER, CHURCH OF ST JOHN? (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed addition of N aisle and 2 new bays at W end of nave, also robing room N of chancel. (Not executed?)
Refs: Signed undated drawing for 'St John's church', Hillsborough, in RCB Library, portfolio 11.

Building: CO. MONAGHAN, KILMORE, CHURCH OF ST AIDAN OR ST LUKE (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed new seating, pulpit, desk, windows, roof, new vestry door and fireplace.
Refs: Signed undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 3A

Building: CO. GALWAY, DUNMORE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: New rectangular 3-bay church, lit from S side only, adjoining ruin.
Refs: Design, signed 'J. Welland' but dated 1869, in RCB Library, portfolio 26

Building: CO. CORK, KILSHANNIG, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed alts.and enlargement, including addition of N aisle and robing room., S porch. Double lancet windows in new aisle, with rose window at E end; new windows in S wall of nave.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 5

Building: CO. GALWAY, GALWAY, MARKET STREET, CHURCH OF ST NICHOLAS (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed repewing.
Refs: Drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 26

Building: CO. TIPPERARY, KILFITHMONE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed gallery and stairs.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in Representative Church Body Library, portfolio 3, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/628 (last visited, Mar 2017).

Building: CO. WATERFORD, DUNMORE EAST, CHURCH OF ST ANDREW (CI, KILLEA PARISH)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed enlargement by addition of transept.
Refs: Signed alternative designs for addition of transept to N or to S in RCB Library, portfolio 27

Building: CO. WESTMEATH, MAYNE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed vestry.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s)in RCB Library, portfolio 23

Building: CO. DONEGAL, CARNDONAGH, CHURCH (CI, DONAGH PARISH)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed reseating, pulpit, reading desk.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 10

Building: CO. CORK, KILMICHAEL, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Alternative proposals for robing room either by addition to N or by partitioning off westernmost bay.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 9.

Building: CO. DOWN, WARRENPOINT, CHURCH OF ST MARY (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed enlargement either by N & S transepts and new chancel or by S transept, N aisle & porch, chancel & vestry. Neither executed?
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 12

Building: CO. CAVAN, BALLYCONNELL, CHURCH (CI, TOMREGAN PARISH)
Date: ?
Nature: New sittings, pulpit? & reading desk?
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 20

Building: CO. DOWN, SAINTFIELD, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed new gallery and vestry.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 11

Building: CO. LIMERICK, NANTINAN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposal for new 4-bay nave and chancel at church of 'Nantenant'; existing W tower retained.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 22

Building: CO. ARMAGH, ARDMORE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed new gallery.
Refs: Signed, undated design for same in RCB Library, portfolio 12

Building: CO. CORK, MARMULLANE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Addition of S aisle, lit by triple lancets.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 9

Building: CO. CORK, MAGOURNEY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: New church. Early English, 4-bay nave, 1-bay chancel, S porch.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 5

Building: CO. MAYO, LACKAN, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed new church. 4-bay with pinnacled bellcote and triple lancet window at E end.
Refs: Signed, undated design in RCB Library, portfolio 19

Building: CO. CORK, KINSALE, CHURCH OF ST MULTOSE (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed rebuilding.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 9

Building: CO. DOWN, GARVAGHY, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed new chancel (not executed) & N robing room.
Refs: Signed, undated design in RCB Library, portfolio 12; Clergy of Down and Dromore (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1996), Part 1, 193(illus.)

Building: CO. DOWN, MAGHERALIN, CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Gallery.
Refs: Undated design in RCB Library, portfolio 12

Building: CO. DOWN, MAGHERALLY (BANBRIDGE), CHURCH (CI, OLD)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed reseating.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing in RCB Library, portfolio 12

Building: CO. OFFALY, EGLISH, CHURCH OF THE HOLY TRINITY (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: New rectangular church of 4-bays. Lancet windows, bellcote in N gable.
Refs: Undated drawing(s) signed J. Welland, 48 Rutland St, Dublin, in RCB Library, portfolio 23

Building: CO. DONEGAL, MOVILLE, CHURCH OF ST COLUMB (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: New chapel-of-ease in parish of Moville Lower. Early English. Nave & chancel with tower and spire. Consecrated, 7Jun 1858. Cost about £1,600; 'upwards of £1000 subscribed by Rev. S. Montogmery, rector, who also gave site, and his immediate relatives. 
Refs: Signed undated drawings (detail of tower marked 'cancelled') in RCB Library, portfolio 10A;  Irish Ecclesiastical Gazette 1, no. 27 (Jun 1858), 547;  J.B. Leslie, Derry Clergy, 267; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 432;  F.W. Fawcett and D.W.T. Crooks, eds., Clergy of Derry & Raphoe (Ulster Historical Foundation, 1999),  167,168(illus.).

Building: CO. ANTRIM, GLENARM, CHURCH OF ST PATRICK (CI, TICKMACREVAN PARISH)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed new robing room and sittings.
Refs: Signed, undated drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 7

Building: CO. FERMANAGH, BALLINAMALLARD, CHURCH (CI, MAGHERACROSS PARISH)
Date: ?
Nature: New chancel. Proposed S. aisle (not executed).
Refs: Drawing(s) in RCB Library, portfolio 3A; Alistair Rowan, The Buildings of Ireland: North West Ulster (1979), 116

Building: CO.MAYO, DUNFEENY, GLEBE HOUSE
Date: ?
Nature: Design for 3-bay, 2-storey over basement glebe house and offices. (Lewis mentions 'a good glebe house').
Refs: Signed, undated plans and elevations in Representative Church Body Library, G/10;  Samuel Lewis, A Topographical dictionary of Ireland (1837), I, 574.


Building: CO. KERRY, DINGLE, CHURCH OF ST JAMES (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed repewing and rearrangement of furnishings.
Refs: Unsigned, undated drawing, showing plans of existing and proposed arrangements, and another undated plan for proposed arrangement signed by Joseph Welland in Representative Church Body Library, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/146  (last visited, Feb 2017).

Building: CO. KERRY, TEMPLENOE, CHURCH (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed internal alterations and repewing.  Proposed addition of chancel.

Refs: Undated designs in RCB Library, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, www.archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org (last visited, Feb 2016).

Building: CO. GALWAY, CLONFERT, CATHEDRAL OF ST BRENDAN (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed re-roofing of nave.
Refs: Signed, undated designs in Representative Church Body Library, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/999-1001

Building: CO. WICKLOW, MOYNE, CHURCH OF ST JOHN (CI)
Date: ?
Nature: Proposed new seats, reader's desk and pulpit. Also open timber roof?
Refs: Signed, undated designs in Representative Church Body Library, see RCB Library - Architectural Drawings, https://archdrawing.ireland.anglican.org/items/show/668,669.